How interesting is Antichess? & Beating one of the best in the world

orig.png

Antichess has been in my daily routine for a while now and I have become a very good player in this not very common mode.

I also like to share here my experiences with this mode, which is somewhat counter-intuitive in many respects, I will summarize what these games are about,

the player who runs out of moves or pieces wins, if you can capture a piece you are obliged to do so and the moment you can capture that is the only move you can make.

This is my promotion in antichess

I play on the lichess platform if you want to play too.


one of the most common themes in all games is to force your opponent to be in a chain of capturing pieces, some games can be defined in the first few seconds with these tactics and something similar happened here.

So you have to be aware of a couple of things

  • Less rank = better position, the less space you occupy on the board the better your chances will be and the less your opponent will be able to put you in an uncomfortable position.

Match against one of the best antichess players in the world.

I've seen this guy in tournaments beating everyone like it was nothing, and I was able to play a few games with him with a draw result, the first two he won but then I was able to take some pride and play good antichess for the next two, I leave you my favourite game

Of course, there is theory and openings.

There is a group quite committed to study the different first moves that can arise in this modality, although nowadays there is a limited repertoire there is a lot of game after with all the rule of the compulsory captures, I sometimes I study more in depth certain positions like the following game that I am going to show you


get rid of the bishops

I think it is the worst piece next to the queen, although the queen does have some uses in certain positions, the bishops have the worst possible range of moves in this game, they cover a lot of space and in any move they can be a nuisance for beginners, so make sure you get rid of them first.

Antichess is a very interesting modality, there is a community growing at a fast pace, every day there are new tournaments and there are even sponsored tournaments where a good part of the players participate, I will continue with these posts in the community if they are well received, see you soon.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center