Going Crazy on Chess 960 - No Openings, No Preparation

The highlight of the week after the classic Friday tournament is to try out some chess variants in lichess, this time it was the turn of chess 360 which is already something familiar in my head because every so often they have tournaments in Hivechess where the order of the pieces is chaos

I had read a few years ago that 360 was the "purest" variant of chess, there was no opening theory unless you wanted to memorize 360 ​​variants, there was no preparation because the initial positions were decided at the beginning of the round, it was the law of the jungle for everyone.


They throw you into the position without saying a word and you have to quickly see and configure all your troops as best as possible to finish off the opponent, although we still follow the basic chess patterns it is the initial setup that continues to confuse me, although it gives you some great games like this


Castling in this type of game is a wild card that can lead to many other things, although I find it difficult to move the other pieces out of the way and understand the rules of this type of play in these variants, the knights also have a new role and it is often good to bring them out in the first moves


And time is an even more important factor in these positions! We start with an unbalanced position from the beginning so we have a lot of chances to bother our opponent and make him think about the next move, I also take advantage of that especially in these short time controls.


I'm starting to get excited about this variant and I'm playing it a lot more, I even set a goal to reach 2000 rating points so I'm officially starting 360 training as well, it fits in with the other daily training I'm doing and of course I'll dedicate a daily post to those as well

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center