DAY 1: EVERYDAY A DOODLE CHALLENGE

Girls pose sketcha.jpg

HI HIVEANS,

So I put up a challenge for myself, for June, to be sketching every day. If you want to improve your drawing skills, you can hop in with me, let's have some fun while we learn. It will be a long and stormy ride, so put on your seatbelt very well, so you won't slide off.

AIM

You may ask what's the point. The key here is small repetitive exercise, that will help you hit the same muscle 10X, or 1000X in a short period, whereby the muscle memory takes over.

For example, if you're learning how to paint portraits, and you've difficulties with painting eyes. Then you'll have only two opportunities to practice eyes per portrait if you always do a full rendering.

But, if you practice a couple of eye sketches for that amount of time you spent on painting a full rendering, you'll discover your eye painting skills will improve tremendously.

Then, you will see improvements in your next painting. It's the law of nature basically, and it works by focusing on those tiny things that make a whole. It's like cells in the body or scales in music.


Today, I focused on poses from random pictures of ladies I saw online. The curves and their posture was what got me attracted to going for this. I also did some underpainting, but it wasn't necessary.

Girls pose sketch1.jpg

Girls pose sketch1a.jpg

Girls pose sketch2.jpg

Girls pose sketch2b.jpg

Girls pose sketch3.jpg

Girls pose sketch3b.jpg


Let me see if you find those tips I shared above helpful, share your thoughts and comments below.

Hashtags you can you use for me to find you is #doodlechallenge or #everydayadoodlechallenge.

PS: There's no gift token attached to this, maybe in the future. But for now none.


cover image 2.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now