Is it a bird? An angel perhaps?

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

Ist es ein Vogel oder schon ein Engel? Is it a bird or already an angel?

Vogel in German means 'Bird', I though it is more than accurate regardless Friedmann Vogel.

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

My today's drawing model is none other than the excellent German ballet master Friedmann Vogel(b.1979).
His life story is completely different from the colourful figure of Sergey Polunin I was writing last week.

gold gradient pojedyncze pioro.png

Vogel practised his skills from an early age in his home town - Stuttgart, where he received a prestige scholarship and continued his studies at the Princess Grace Academy of Classical Dance in Monte Carlo.


Vogel is the recipient of countless awards and has even performed on the stages like famous La Scala Theatre Ballet in Milan and the unmatched Bolshoi Ballet in Moscow. His achievements do not end here - last year he was honoured with the position of juror of the Prix de Lausanne. What is most interesting in this fact, that a quarter of a century earlier - he won in the very same competition!

gold gradient pojedyncze pioro.png

I would also like to point out that the fact, that Vogel does not getting himself into controversial projects, does not diminish him, on the contrary - despite the fact that his path seems simpler(straighter for sure!) than S. Polunin, he is still extremely fascinating figure. Vogel is known for his professionalism, his complete dedication to dance and his extremely charismatic performances.


He is a source of inspiration not only for dancers of the young generation, but also for artists and photographers. I would even risk the statement, that he is personal muse for many. The amount of pictures of his likeness taken by famous photographers is just astonishing!

gold gradient pojedyncze pioro.png

At the very end of the article, you will find several links to his bio, video clips etc. etc.

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

Usually, when I draw, I sit in the corner, preferably on the floor, leaning against the radiator (my favourite spot in the world!) with my sketchbook on my lap and I would just start drawing.

With the series about dancers it is completely different. I sit down at my desk and stare at the blank paper in silence for a long moment. I take an indefinite amount of time sharpening already sharp pencils, arranging them by degrees of hardness. I prepare different types of erasers, remove the invisible dust from the paper. And I think.

gold gradient pojedyncze pioro.png

I imagine, what it feels like, for an artist, preparing for a big performance. I feel the coldness of the practice room, which is completely empty, the silence of which is broken by the echo of the quick steps of bare feet. Then, after a while the place is filled with the heavy, sour smell of the spinning bodies.

I see mirrors, but I do not look at myself in the eye, but follow my steps, I focus my attention on tense muscles, breathing. I am straightening my back, stretching the neck up as far as I can - and I look at the white ceiling.

Empty as a sheet of paper in front of me.

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

About the drawing:

Like the portrait of Sergei Polunin - here too, I started with a very soft pencil, in this case 4B.
I wanted the figure of the model to be heavily shaded, so that the figure can 'lift' the sizzle of the white paper. I wanted nothing to distract the viewer from the 'wings' and the figure. White paper can be at times a bit overwhelming, but in this case it seems to me a good base, because such an unusual, emotional pose requires space, air. The dancer deserves the leading role.

gold gradient pojedyncze pioro.png

I hope that this week will treats you gently, and you will reach end of it with a smile:)

Yours,
Strega Azure

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

Today I used as inspiration beautiful photos taken by

Baki(instagram)

as well as a sculpture of Nike of Samothrake

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

1 (1).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (2).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (3).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (4).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (5).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (6).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (7).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (8).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (9).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (10).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (11).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (12).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (13).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (14).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (15).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

IMG_20230405_225512.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

Friedmann Vogel official website

Official FB profile

Colaboration with Soloist Thomas Lempertz, very itimite piece, written during pandemic

Friedemann Vogel performing Maurice Béjart's Boléro with the Municipal de Santiago(short clip)

8SECONDS - The world's first AI sculpture. Von Bernd Bartolome mit Friedemann Vogel

reference pic for my drawing

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

Drawing & pics are my authorship if not stated otherwise, all rights reserved @strega.azure ©
I've used pencils 6B, 4B, 2B, F, 2H, 4H

hive gold.png

Stopka-druga-proba.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center