My best drawing ever is finished - African Turkana


Today I want to share my best creation ever by far. It all started when I visited my friend a few months ago. I hadn't seen him in almost a year so we decided to take a coffee and chat a little. He has also started to create art but more abstract art.

When I came to his place I almost immediately noticed two framed photographs hanging on the wall. It was of two men or women from a tribe called Turkana Kenya (thanks @doodle.danga for the research) symbolizing yin and yang. It was very hard to determine which one of them was female and which was male. Both very rich in detail, and you could stare at them for hours. @ryivhnn actually found them in the internet so my reference is posted further down


This is my interpretation of one of them.

IMG_20200809_130356.jpg

I have spent about 60 hours on this drawing. It's not a direct copy, I have changed some parts and added others. During some of the process I drew only from my head and tried to make it more artistic than realistic. The details in the original photo would require me to sit at least 200 hours to make it hyper realistic but that wasn't my goal. It was a challenge big enough anyway :)

Below you can see some details. I will post a full tutorial in the future but I want to follow the rules of re-posting so it will be in a few months.

2B pencil.jpeg

IMG_20200809_131130.jpg

IMG_20200809_131049.jpg

IMG_20200809_131024.jpg

7B pencil.jpeg

My reference

3611840399390_02c.jpeg

I hope you enjoyed this post, don't forget to give this post an upvote and share it with everyone you know. Also check out my recent posts that I've linked below

I want to create art full time, but I need your help
Oldsmobile - commission job
Art from the past - Golden eagle


L1 353.jpg
@realitycartoon

Instagram

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now