My Entry To Draw Moly In Your Style

IMG_20200902_160227.jpg
Moly unleashing the skull lantern

Hello guys, This is my version of Moly which is the subject for this Draw This In Your Style Contest organised by @grisvisa. I used a washable color pencil in brown on a sketchbook. That's how simple the technique is. I want to try traditional drawing style this time although I am also dabbling in pixel art lately. I love the dark and woody effect I achieve using this brown washable pencil.
1598988855886.jpg
By the way here is the reference drawing that we need to recreate provided and made by @grisvisa herself. The reference character looks cute and nice but I noticed that she got those little protrusions on her head. Hmmm perfect for the look I have in mind. A dark Moly.

Here are some photos to show you the progress of my drawing:
IMG_20200902_154953.jpg
Using a washable pencil in brown I sketched the image that I was going for. She is not cute but chunky and woody and dark. Her clothes quite old and dingy.
IMG_20200902_155039.jpg
After the line drawing I added a bit of shading on some parts as my guide for my source of light.
IMG_20200902_155121.jpg
I dipped a cotton bud in water and started smudging the line drawing to give it some color and depth. It was not easy to control the flow of water compared with a brush. Unfortunately I couldn't achieve the wash effect for some reasons.
IMG_20200902_155257.jpg
Retrace some blurred lines after the smudging so I won't lose them. If I have a different color for my pencil it would be better so I can add some highlights. Yellow or pale blue or white would be nice.
IMG_20200902_160146.jpg
Here is a closer shot of Moly. The sketchbook is big for my phone and I couldn't get a clear shot sorry for that. Hope you guys enjoyed reading my post. Until next time

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center