community
"Sharing old work and doing quick redraws"

College Freshmen Unicorn -> The Last Unicorn at Senior Prom

"College Freshmen Unicorn" 🦄 (TLDR Old art, not great, new art, well.. better.) was a piece I finished 12.12.2020 when I doing daily paintings. Trying to push myself to do a painting a day and it still look okay. Some did. not so much this one. So i decided it was time for the Freshmen Unicorn to grow up a little.
Here's where we started.

A decent messy sketch that I couldn't ever seem to get cleaned up the way I wanted with color. Now I know it was too many heavy lines.

12.11.2020 (SKETCH).jpg

Then I did colors underneath the line layer but it looks so awful. Things arent within the shape and I never got rid of the sketch lines to really clean the face up.

12.12.2020.jpg

When I started looking for an old piece to post and possible make over, this one seemed like the perfect choice.
I always really liked the idea that this character gets older as time goes by and the ebb and flow of school comes. So I would like to think in this she's at least grown up a little.
and maybe, just maybe, my drawing skills have improved.

"The Last Unicorn at Senior Prom" 🦄

12.12.2020 - Redraw 04.13.2021.jpg

College Freshmen Unicorn -> The Last Unicorn at Senior Prom

This is a cross post of @mikeyparkerart/college-freshmen-unicorn-the-last-unicorn-at-senior-prom by @mikeyparkerart.

Sharing old work and doing quick redraws

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now