My Entry To Draw Moly In Your Style

sketch1599049525911.png
Moly The Moon Bride
This is how I would portray the reference character Moly. I turned her into a Moon Bride. Looking at the reference drawing I think Moly is wearing a traditional wrap dress could be Korean or a Japanese kimono. The dress is beautiful and regal nonetheless. I think she has a veil with flowers on her head making me more convinced that she is wearing a wedding dress.
1598988855886.jpg
This is the reference drawing made by our contest host @grisvisa. I must say that she has a strong sense and knowledge of her style. I am still discovering and learning and improving my style. I must say that I am more inclined to do a caricature and cartoon style of drawing.

On my version I tried to retain most of the original details on Moly because I think that they are beautiful and deserve to be recreated. The bridge is quite a challenge to be honest so I swapped it for a moon. I love the creeping vines with flowers and kept them which surprised me because they worked well with the moon where Moly sits. The moon is a big change but did a good impact in telling my story of a Moon Bride or Moon Goddess.

Here are some screen capture of the work in progress
IMG_20200902_202830.jpg
It took some iterations before I got the right shape considering that I am going for a caricature style of drawing
IMG_20200902_202914.jpg
I thought that the moon would be easier to draw than the bridge but I was wrong. The creeping vines and the right shape and angle of the moon took time to finalise
IMG_20200902_202853.jpg
Finally a clean line drawing. I must admit that this is the longest time it took me to scribble a line drawing 😊
IMG_20200902_203006.jpg
Base colors I try to stay true to the original. Here I added a gray background so I can work well with adding the colors
IMG_20200902_203104.jpg
Final touch, light and shadow which takes time to do. Highlights on those green vines is taking longer to do but I was happy to see the final results. The starry background was a breeze plus the little shining light at the bottom.

Thank you for stopping by hope you enjoyed reading my post. Good luck to everyone who are participating in the contest. Have fun. To my creative friends @cabalen and @shookt hope you join too.


1599120709108.jpg
Thank you to @doze for this beautiful Hiverium

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center