Watercolor portrait with sand

Here is another one small portrait 20x20cm I made in watercolor on canvas.
I am posting these close ups so it would be able to see pencil work and materials added with watercolor.



IMG_41631a.jpg



Here is close view where I used acrylic paste with acrylic to make more 3D illusion for a hair.
It reacts good with watercolor. Tone of color becomes a bit lighter on acrylic, so you need to find out your own measure.



Send used for background is mixed also with pure white acrylic color and painted on canvas.
This kind of sand was some kind of deco send and too big, but at the time it was only one I had :)
Few days ago I found smaller grains, like one used in construction industry. Sand can harm your brush, so when applying layers with sand use some brush you don't care about a lot.



IMG_41631b.jpg



And here is final piece. Still you can see pencil strokes that I left on purpose on this one. It's up to you will you leave your pencil drawing under watercolor or you will erase it.
Somehow I wait till the end to see what to do with it. Just a question of personal feelings.



IMG_41631bc.jpg



Thank you!



Facebook

Instagram

Saatchi art



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center