ILLUSTRATING THE EXPERIENCES OF A DEPRESSED FRIEND IN AN ARTWORK

Hi Guys, so I spoke with a close friend who was depressed with the way things have been going lately with him. Apparently, it looked like a series of bad events just occurred in succession. After much persuasion, he opened up to me, and I really connected so well with him that to an extent, I could feel his pain.

The conversation made him feel a lot better and I got an inspiration to release the emotions I felt into my art, illustrating how heavy I could feel his heart was.

I picked up my stylus pen and started sketching some thing I had absolutely no idea of or thought about initially, was rather guided by my emotions. I sketched a sad and tired looking, tattered, malnourished and unkempt man who is struggling to carry a heavy load on his back (This heavy load represented the worries, pain we humans have to endure to keep moving forward.)

I'd share the finished work and give a breakdown process.

DepressionArtboard 1.png

Now, to the sketch!

D1Artboard 1.png
Sketch is more like a skeleton that needs to be worn flesh and given life - which is the line art and colouring.

I lowered the opacity of my sketch layer to draw neater lines for my line Art...

DArtboard 1.png
I included the waste bin and torn clothes to better describe the mood in this work.

Next was adding colours, placed base colours and lighting on the character, waste bin, and the rocky ground he is walking barefooted on. Also, some torn Tissue papers to make the scene look more natural.

D2Artboard 1.png

Moved on to add colours to the old-looking, wooden barriers. Added more details to make them look a bit more realistic.

D3Artboard 1.png

Lastly, was to place beautiful looking sky, ray of light and my Artist Signature. The lighter part of the sky helped show the part more exposed to sunlight and how the environment looked like under such.
My Blue sky signified Hope. Hope for a brighter and better future💡.

DepressionArtboard 1.png

I showed this work to him before posting, and he really really loved and connected with it and never stopped talking about how the Artwork so describes him. I'm so happy he feels like he didn't share his feelings with me, but with the Art too.

The conversation really opened my eyes of how people go through a lot and a good number of us never communicate about it. The little we can do to reach out to people will go a long way to make them feel better. And if you're feeling down, please talk to a trusted person. You'd feel a lot better and see the world in a different light.❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center