A BULL CHARACTER I RECREATED DIGITALLY

Hi Guys, so I got this job to recreate a Bull character that was sketched on a piece of paper. I'd post the finished work and give a breakdown of the process.

BullerrArtboard 1.png

I was sent the snapped sketch by a friend who was meant to do the work, but was occupied at the time. So he threw it to me. Check out the sketch below

Bull.jpg

I started with the Line Art, which I had to make as clean as possible, with no double lines, cos a good line Art definitely makes the completed work look professional.

Bull line artArtboard 1.png

Next, I placed the base colour by creating a new layer above my sketch layer. The base colour for me, is the initial colour for my character, it is from this colour I create darker and lighter shades to make my Artwork look more realistic.

My Character after placing the base colours...
Bull layerArtboard 1.png

I went on to apply my darker and lighter shades of my character's uniform and Skin.
These shades are not applied anyhow so it doesn't look like plain colours, they are done with the imagination of having an idea of which part of the body will have more or less exposure to light. When this is done correctly, it adds more depth and makes the character look more interesting.

Bull layer2Artboard 1.png

Wala! some of the most interesting part of colouring this character was the nose - gave it this shiny look. Second was the green, brown and yellow colours that were placed at random places on his body to depict something close to a Soldier's Uniform. Another was his earrings! - made him look so so badass and rough.

Lastly, was to set a background colour and my signature. Before that, I've been trying out some new style lately by adding white lighting at the edges of my Artworks. It's one of my finishing touches. I did that in this piece and it definitely turned out great😎.

BullerrArtboard 1.png

To give an extra information, I used dark shade of Red in the background to make him look more dangerous. I hope he does look like😂.

So what do you all think about this one?😃

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center