A sketch and watercolor study : A Mouse in a Matchstick Chair

2febHiveTHUMB.jpg

A new fellow for my Animal in chairs series

This little chum came to me recently when I'd found I'd been sketching and scribbling mice in the edges and and borders of my sketch books.

I realized I needed at least one mouse in my Animal in Chair series and couldn't recall having made one.

This little fellow started out simple on the page

2febHive1.jpg
Even in his simple form of circles and lines I knew he was a gentleman and needed a walking stick. Of course his would be a Matchstick.

2febHive2.jpg

At this point I'd scanned my simple sketch so I could work with layers digitally.

The ability to shut off and on layers still amazes me to this day and I recall days in school of old when such techniques were taught with a few layers of thin onion skin tracing paper, so one could build up layers to see the form develop, taped one on top of the other.

2febHive3.jpg

Our gentleman needed a hat

What self respecting Gentleman mouse would go calling with his match walking stick and not remember to have his Sunday best thimbal hat on as well, tho we'll assume this matchstick chair is in the garden, for even Gentleman mice now a fellow takes off his hat when he enters for visiting.

2febHive5.jpg

The first layer of watercolour to play with tones and decide on colors.

2febHive6.jpg

Another layer of watercolor for a bit more detail and depth and a hint at a background.

Our little gentleman looks quite at home in his matchstick chair in the garden.

And of course one cannot help but share a GIF of the build up:

Webp.net-gifmaker (8).gif

This fellow, tho a study , is still a piece in his own right and will most likely (with some graphic design tweaking) end up in the "to be put on things for sale" pile. I do think I want to continue with him and give him the pastel/chalk more defined ink outline I like to use in my finished Animal in chair pieces, so I'll be sure to share him when I do that stage.

I hope you enjoyed seeing my little gentleman go from scribble to character.

I also hope you can find a moment in your day to indulge in your creative passions, whatever they may be and remember, as always, to stay creative.


If you'd like to follow my Work Here are some Links:
NFTshowroom
MAKERSPLACE
My Website
Instagram
Twitter
My 3Speak Channel

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center