DRAW MOLY IN YOUR STYLE | ILLUSTRATION CONTEST BY @grisvisa

Hello OCA Folk.

I went through a little bit of a dry and demotivated arc last week and needed to get out of it. So, not willing to wait for the spell to lapse and my creativity to kick in, I decided to just start drawing... because I need the Hive and extra monies (things are a little rough)... and for my account to grow.

So I took on @grisvisa's Draw Moly In Your Style contest to first get something to work on and, secondly, proactively get the juices going.

Grisa Visa dtiys01.jpeg

This was a strange one because I needed to take a highly stylized piece of art and interpret it in my pseudo-style of a kind of realism. It was a challenge for sure but that was just what the doctor ordered.

I enjoyed this #dtiysgris and it was helpful in getting me working again. So even if I don't win the contest, the challenge of reimagining this character.

I went with a somewhat momentous and somber approach (almost scenic portrait), and instead of including a all the environmental articles, I implied the lanterns and the night time festive mood.

vtrshm circular logo footer boarder trans wht blk bg.png

PROCESS MATERIAL

Polish_20200907_044048130.jpg

Polish_20200907_044213172.jpg

Polish_20200907_044328485.jpg

Polish_20200907_044526074.jpg

As you can see in the image directly above, I experimented with a couple of backgrounds. I really liked the sakura tree take on the left end but that didn't have the lighting setup to rationalize the lighting on the subject. And so I settle on the one on the right end and went to manipulate the image to justify it as the scene.


Grisa Visa dtiys.jpg

I really loved doing this challenge and if you'd love to join in too, just visit the post link below and read the rules.
@grisvisa/draw-moly-in-your-style-and-win-hive-illustration-contest

screenshot2.png

__________________________________________

vtrshm circular logo footer boarder trans wht blk bg.png

Tools and Info:

  • Samsung Tab SM-T805 (Ipad Pro Mini or a Wacom one in my wishlist)
  • Ibis PainterX Android
  • Infinite Painter Android
  • Clip Studio Paint
  • Resolution: 1600X2650
  • dpi: 300
  • Type: PNG


Thumbnail cover banner may 2020.png

Thank you for having a look at my wares. If you like what I'm about and doing, give me a little visit on my profile page, leave a comment, like and while you at it, hit that follow button and follow me not my instagram.

Studio_20200815_010548.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center