Painting an oil portrait of my daughter.

Hello community! I have been trying to make time to paint more, specially to practice oil painting, but with my daily activities it htd turned into a difficult task. So I decided to work on a smaller scale to not get overwhelmed.
Then I realized I didn't have a blank canvas and didn't have enough extra money to get one (mostly because I have been focusing more on my print making). But that was no excuse and I took an old painting and painted on top. I didnt make a base because I thought of taking advantage of the pre existing colors on the background, so I traced a rough sketch from a photo I took of my girl and I was ready to start

It's not the first time, I reuse most of my canvases when I want to paint and theres some old work that no longer resonates with me. Specially my old art school shenanigans. This time the difference was that I kinda kept the original peeking underneath and dindt sandpaper anything.

I kept the same color scheme to kinda ease my work and just added some definition here and there. It kade for a ver fun practice.

I was done vwry quickly with some remaining paint, so I used a friend's hack and put it in the fridge to preserve and be able to use it later. Now I'm planning to make some more paintings, this time on bigger canvases.
Thank you very much for stopping by!!
The pictures were taken with my Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 cellphone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center