Botanical watercolor series: the rosehip flower

I continue my series of botanical watercolor studies with a rosehip flower.

DSCF6656.jpg

I have vivid memories about these ones. They smell so fragant and almost around any corner of our concrete buildings in Romania you could find a big bush of these. I would put my nose into it and inhale. It smells like my childhood, it smells familiar.

DSCF6664.jpg

The odour of something can carry you somewhere far away in the past and makes you feel like you are living in the moment now.

DSCF6663.jpg

I always start with a pencil sketch.

Rosehip8.jpg

I create my palette for the first part of the plant.

Rosehip3.jpg

I wait for it to dry and come back over with different nuances.

Rosehip22.jpg

I like the slow pace that watercolor makes you adopt. You can't rush. So you have the patience and go slowly.

Rosehip48.jpg

Rosehip12.jpg

Rosehip11.jpg

Some close-ups of the final drawing

DSCF6666.jpg

DSCF6667.jpg

DSCF6668.jpg

DSCF6669.jpg

DSCF6670.jpg

DSCF6671.jpg

DSCF6672.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center