Smiling Girl Portrait

IMG-20240711-WA0148.jpg

What a great week indeed! I just finished another artwork this morning and I would love to share with everyone here in the #OnChainArt community.
This artwork is special to me. It's a portrait of my fist crush, Mary. She was my classmate from highschool and she has a twin sister, Miriam. She loves to make this hairstyle I showed in the drawing. I've missed her so much and decided to bring her memories closer by making an artwork of her personality.

Now here are the processes, on how I made the work:
I first started by using grid lines to create the sketch of the face. The sketching was followed by a line drawing to ensure the curves and straight lines are in shape, then I began my pen painting from the right side of the hair.

IMG-20240711-WA0146.jpg

Secondly, I proceeded to pen paint the forehead. By careful observation, you will notice the difference in the depth of the hair painting and face painting. The hair painting I made was thicker while I smudged the face painting with my fingers and made it smooth.

IMG-20240711-WA0149.jpg

This is where I remembered one thing Mary loved the most, butterflies. Most of her clothes and scarves have butterfly designs. So this prompted me to draw and paint butterflies on the forehead.

IMG-20240711-WA0145.jpg
After the butterfly drawing, I proceeded with the painting down her cheek curves. To be honest, she has no dimples, so I gave her none, hehe.

IMG-20240711-WA0144.jpg

I continued the pen painting and gradual smudging down to her chest region. Then I shaded the lips with a pencil and also smudged it gradually. The other areas that needed shaded were also done, just like the nose, eyes and ear.

IMG-20240711-WA0147.jpg

This is my final work. The real picture is here. With watercolor, I painted the whole work, and added another girlish feature, roses. The negative areas were also made presentable by scattered paintings of different colors.

IMG-20240711-WA0148.jpg

Then my work is done. This work took me three days, because I go to school everyday and I only have time to visit the artwork at night.

Thanks for checking up on my work.
Enjoy your day and upcoming weekend.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments