Santa's supply chain (Part 7) - ice sculpture



Although Christmas is long gone by most of the calenders I am still writing about it here on my blog. Why's that? If you have been reading my posts over the last few weeks you will know that my wife was in hospital over Christmas. So, it was just my son and I at home trying to enjoy the festivities. The solitude was compounded by the fact we were in quarantine due to close contact. We did enjoy ourselves although it was quite a strange Christmas. I believe many around the world had similar changes of plan. Well, we made a promise that whenever my wife was out of the hospital and felt up to it we would have our own special Christmas, just for our little family.

Clodagh spent yesterday along with her sister preparing our turkey dinner. The tree and decorations are still up and even Santa made another visit with a gift for our son.

So, even though it is the 23rd of January it is our Christmas 2021.

Meanwhile, In ice sculpture land

It was now Christmas morning and the excitement of finding out if Santa had been. No time to put on clothes or go for a pee. Just up and out of bed and straight to the tree. (not an intentional rhyme) wondering did Santa recieve the letter you sent ages ago? The glass of Whiskey, biscuits and carrots has been drunk and eaten. That was always a good sign.

As you walk through the door into the living room you are greeted by the sight of presents all around the tree, wrapped up in a beautiful bow. Without hesitation, you rip off the paper and there before you is the thing of your dreams.



Making of (montage 7)
This was my last piece in the Christmas ice sculpture exhibition at Funtasia. Consisting of three elements. The child was made from one block of ice and was simple enough to carve. It was a little girl as I wanted to place her in a nighty with s little sparkly pattern.

The tree was also simple, with just three plains of ice creating the silhouette of a tree I worked well from the main viewpoints. This was textured and decorated to give it a bit more interest. I put some Christmas tree lights on it to add the final touch. I should really have added more because it would have helped to define the form better and brighten the scene up.

The final elements were the presents. Simple cubes of ice with a bow. One however was an icebox with which the child was interacting. In this box, I placed a sculpture of a teddy bear. The audience could see the gift within but the child was still unwrapping.



40 days later

There was some melting due to the fact it was close to the exit door but this scene stood the test of time very well because it was simple and blocky. The icebox shined up nicely and you could easily see the ice teddy inside.



As the punters exited they went through a simple ice bar which wasn't real ice but looked the part. It was nice to see this addition.



We have come to the end of Christmas for my family and my posts. Thank you to those who followed along and generously gave me comments and upvotes.
When I look back on the entire exhibition I am quite proud of what I pulled off with the materials and time I had. I just wish I had better photos to show you.
I will be back with some snow sculptures next time.





Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Santa's supply chain (Part 6) - ice sculpture

Santa's supply chain (Part 5) - ice sculpture

Santa's supply chain (Part 4) - ice sculpture

Santa's supply chain (Part 3) - ice sculpture

Santa's supply chain (Part 2) - ice sculpture

Santa's supply chain (Part 1) - ice sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

I am also starting to create NFTs of my sculptures and welcome you to my gallery where you can own a bit of ephemeral sculpture history.

[//]:# (!pinmapple 53.705539 lat -6.364098 long Santa's supply chain (Part 7) - ice sculpture 2015 d3scr)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center