Wednesday Walk - More Signs of Fall

Fall is practically here for this #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay
PSX_20241002_073123.jpg
On our early morning walk we found this pristine condition pipevine swallowtail. Rarely do I ever see them in such perfect condition holding still enough for a shot.

P1012086 copy.jpg
Leaves are falling everywhere too, this one looks just like a heart. I really need to get better at tree identification to better help me with mushroom foraging.

P1012066 copy.jpg
The red maples are changing first as usual. Their leaves will be all fallen down by the time the yellow leaves change color.

P1012062 copy.jpg
Some leaves are even falling before they change color. Maybe a squirrel knocked this one down into the water.

P1012065 copy.jpg
I felt something looking at me and turned around to see this bog creature. He is loving mucking around in the leafy mud.

P1012067 copy.jpg
The turtles haven't dug into the mud yet for hibernation. This red eared slider is catching all the sun rays he possibly can before having to freeze solid underground.

P1012061 copy.jpg
Now its time to feed the invasive carps in the lake. I read somewhere you can turn these guys in for 100 bucks each, though I bet the turn in location is somewhere way in Southern Illinois.

P1012073 copy.jpg
The carp are way too big for the herons to eat. They have plenty of bluegill though.

P1012085 copy.jpg
This one was quite tame. I was hoping to see it catch something but after waiting for 10 minutes nothing happened.

P1012089 copy.jpg
The bees are still around and stocking up on honey before the winter comes. I wonder if this one is from a wild hive or a bee box?

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center