July feels a lot like October

10.jpg

The UK's summer has been disappointing so far. The days are clammy, which makes July feel a lot like October. When the weather is like this, it's tempting for me to stay indoors, put the fire on, and snuggle up; however, I've resisted doing so because experience has taught me the importance of getting acclimatised to the weather by spending time in it.

12.jpg


So, to achieve that, I've been going for long walks along the canals at Foxton Locks, where I've been moored for the past 5 days, and yesterday I took some shots, especially for the #WednesdayWalkCommunity and initiative by @tattoodjay.


2.jpg

Once I'm active and dressed appropriately, my mind is free of worry, allowing me to fully appreciate nature, the shadows and reflections along the canals, and interact with strangers that I come across.


11.jpg

Still, there's something positive about this weather, as overcast days are perfect for capturing dramatic skies, and the cooler temperature allows me to go longer distances without feeling exhausted.


1.jpg

I love being in the open, away from the hustle and bustle of mainstream life. It's great, and I can enjoy casual strolls at a slow pace without rushing to the next agenda.


2.jpg

The silence was vibrant!

"Baaaaa," sounds like a flock of sheep echoed as I walked by the fields, and I saw these sheep eating grass as I peeked through the hedges.


17.jpgA closer view

One of the sheep stopped to notice me and then carried on eating.



3.jpgThese pretty pink flowers reassure me that yes, it's July.

Foxton Locks is one of the most scenic views, with an impressive flight of locks. It attracts many visitors daily, as it's an easily accessible location in Market Harborough, UK, that's relatively close to Leicester City.


@millycf1976-44.jpgA boater descending down the flight of locks.

The elevation of the land is a photographer's dream, as it's lovely to capture landscapes of rolling hills, plains, and valleys below.


4.jpg

There was so much beauty for me to snap away, and I kept smiling from the satisfying feeling of being able to freeze these scenes with photography.


7.jpg

Foxton Locks yields many acres, and here is where I have one of the most pleasurable walks in nature because I feel safe and secure on its immaculate yet wild grounds.


8.jpg

There's a Lock House at the top of the flight of locks; that's popular both in the winter and the summer, and I stopped for an ice cream.


3.jpg

Across this stream, this mother swan glided over to greet me with her cygnets in tow, and they remained static for a moment before deepening their bills in the water.




14.jpg

This heron perched down and rested for a while before taking off in flight.


16.jpg

Boaters go by with friendly waves, knowing that we're a small but big community.


18.jpg


I got to chat with a couple as they came off their boat. I didn't recognise their accents immediately, but it turned out that they were from Los Angeles and were holidaying on a rental narrowboat.

They said they learned about the UK canals from watching a video on YouTube, and they decided to spend their holidays on one.


19.jpg

I was impressed because it's encouraging to see tourists appreciating this rich, unique concept of canal life that exists here in the UK, and in the breathtaking English countryside.


21.jpg


22.jpg

My walk took me to some secluded spots off-the-beaten-track.
Saying that roads less travelled, figuratively, always lead to great discoveries, whether it be stunning beauty, epiphany moments, like-minded individuals, or even someone who might be wacky but interesting.


23.jpg

Still, I was completely mesmerised by the picturesque scenery.


24.jpg


27.jpg

There's something special about walking back along the canals and viewing my water home in the distance between all this greenery and wildlife.


26.jpg

It makes me want to skip and play.


25.jpg

... back to Cygnet, my narrowboat.



What rocks my boat
“Nature, the outdoors, art, and culture are all essential to my well-being; my soul is nurtured through fitness, photography, meditation, and mindfulness, all of which bring enjoyment to my daily life.
I see environmental stewardship as my responsibility and enjoy using herbs and spices for cooking and also for natural remedies. Cinnamon is one of my favourite spices, and I occasionally sprinkle it on my coffee.

My blog frequently features my minimalist lifestyle and adventures while living on my narrowboat.”

Irie love,

Milly

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now