A Refreshing Walk In The Forest On Father's Day

Last Sunday it was time for another walk with my youngest brother and mom. I have struggled with my health lately so I wasn't feeling too well but I thought it's always good to get out on a walk in nature. The weather hasn't been so inspiring lately though, it's rather cold, around 0 degrees Celsius and it feels like I haven't seen the sun in quite some time. And after the time change a couple of weeks ago it's dark already around 4 pm.

But I'm not here to complain! Let's enjoy the walk 🙂

IMG_4810.JPG

We followed a dirt road in the forest that leads to a summer house. This house is situated in a rather isolated location, about 2 kilometers from the public dirt road.

IMG_4813.JPG

It looks rather abandoned, or at least the outbuildings. But they actually have camera surveillance installed so I didn't want to get too close and take a picture of the house (I'm a bit paranoid haha).

IMG_4811.JPG

Here we have turned around, walking the same way back. Nice open fields.

IMG_4812.JPG

It used to be another house here (as is often the case when you walk in the countryside/forest). I guess that used to be the closest neighbor.

IMG_4814.JPG

This giant hogweed is still standing, although withered. It's an invasive species, unfortunately widespread in Sweden.

IMG_4781.JPG

The mushroom season has been over for quite some time already, I don't know. It got so wet and then cold rather fast. But as some of you know, I have picked a lot of chanterelles this year, it's been great.

Some mushrooms are still growing though, I thought these ones would make a great picture, but I doubt they are edible.

IMG_4786.JPG

Then I actually spotted some funnel chanterelles, but they were really small and wet, not really worth picking. Funnel chanterelles we can usually pick late in the season here but this year wasn't a good year for them. (Due to the reasons I mentioned above).

IMG_4803.JPG

Close to the funnel chanterelles I spotted a deadly webcap (at least I think so). They might not look so similar but they can be confused. As the name suggests, the deadly webcap is poisonous. I feel rather certain when it comes to funnel chanterelles though, I pick them without any hesitation or fear.

But I wasn't picking mushrooms on this walk, haha.

IMG_4799.JPG

A big anthill just on the side of the road.

IMG_4815.JPG

I tree had fallen over the road that leads to the house. I'm guessing that happened during the snowfall we had a couple of weeks ago. I don't think anyone has been to the house since then. (It was easy to walk over but it would be a problem for a car).

IMG_4816.JPG

Here we are back on the public road again, close to where we parked the car. I thought the withered grass looked rather special, almost like hay.

IMG_4817.JPG

After this walk we enjoyed a nice meal and my brother had 'ordered' (from mom that is) dessert. It was Father's Day in Sweden (internationally, there seem to be so many different dates for these kinds of holidays, rather confusing), and we all still miss him. It's good to share so many memories though ❤️ I feel very grateful for the time I had with my dad. Sometimes it's hard to understand that it's been 9 years already.

Anyway, it was a refreshing walk after all, even though it didn't really alleviate my digestive issues. Thankfully I feel better now.

Namnlös design copy 3.png

Thanks for reading 🌸

Wishing you a lovely day 💚

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center