WEDNESDAY WALK: My colleagues and I take a jog along the Elbe River on a beautiful sunny evening in Hamburg, Germany

Hello everybody on HIVE and especially the Wednesday Walk Community! My name is Jasper and usually I write to you from Cape Town, South Africa... but not today!

I work for a South African division of a German renewable energy company. This week, everybody in the Cape Town office has come to Germany to meet some of our main colleagues here. Other divisions from other markets (Spain, Panama, Canada, Sweden, Turkey) are all coming together to have a company party near the end of the week as well - the first since Covid-19 started, so a happy time for us all to finally meet one another.

Yesterday we met some of our German colleagues for a series of meetings on various topics at the offices in central Hamburg. When the work day ended, some of my Cape Town colleagues decided that a jog would be a nice way to exercise and enjoy the sites.

We jogged along the Zollkanal until it reached the main Norderelbe river (the famous Elbe river splits into two at Hamburg so that a big chunk of southern Hamburg is a bit like an island). Hamburg is quite far from the sea but the Elbe river is so big that quite large ships and boats can make it all the way up as you will see from the photos.


Even just before 17:00, the sun was still hot and beating down on us! A beautiful evening.


I can't help thinking my colleague in the light blue T-shirt resembles the meme "Ridiculously Photogenic Guy" - hahaha!
As for the one wearing a full tracksuit in the heat - ouch!


Everybody enjoying the summer sun at a bar where they've even brought in some sand to give that beach-like feeling!


Some of us having a well-earned drink at a micro-brewery after the jog with some other colleagues from Cape Town and Hamburg!

So I'm having a great time this week - I also got to go inside a modern wind turbine on Monday, which was amazing! I think I will post some pictures of it very soon, so if you want to see the insides of a massive turbine and the view from 125m up in the air, please be sure to keep an eye out for that one!

THE END

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center