Mushrooms and Artifacts!

This walk occurred on Tuesday, but I see it is technically Wednesday as I stay up much too late poking around on HIVE before actually writing my post. I had a rough Sunday and Monday, but I was feeling pretty much back to normal today - well, technically yesterday now. Whatever. At any rate, the library shift went OK, and I took an evening stroll afterward.

I took my sister's little dog for a walk, and a cat tagged along. The dog peed and pooped. It's about all he's good for, aside from yapping every time an ant farts. The cat also peed. He should work harder at mousing, but he's not totally useless. He also doesn't tend to mark his territory indoors, and I appreciate that. I decided I would wait until I got back home before relieving myself at all. I hope the neighbors appreciate my consideration.

As the dog was marking his territory near one neighbor's driveway, I saw this pair of small mushrooms in the weeds. I don't know what species they are, but the fungi have loved the cool, wet weather we've had here. I have seen puffballs galore, this kind, and a number of small white mushrooms as well. I know a lot of people have also found morels in abundance.

mushrooms.jpg
weeds and rock for scale?

While ambling down the road, I picked up a couple aluminum cans as I tried to guide the dog's meanderings somewhat. Stupid litterbugs. What is wrong with people? I'd like to blame the latest wave of invading Californians, but let's be honest, it's always been a problem.

Then, I noticed a rusted chain embedded in the gravel. For all I know, it's been there since the area was "developed" back in the 1970s, and these roads were crudely built by people with no concern for whoever would be here now, five decades in their future.

buried treasure.jpg
Dirty beer can for scale?

I remembered to snap a photo before completely pulling the chain free, so you can see at the bottom left how well it was embedded in the roadway. Now I have about six feet of old rusted chain with hooks on each end. It just needs a little WD-40 and it'll be good as new, right? If it can't be salvaged, it can always be recycled, I suppose.

That was the end of photography for the walk, though. One can't very well take snapshots while juggling a heavy chain, a neurotic dog's leash, and empty beer cans.

Posts not completed due to mental breakdown: Part 2 of the Iron Kingdoms: Requiem RPG review and a book series review. I also have a couple followups on camp cookware after my camp stove shootout but that's waiting thanks to rain delays—not my fault! Maybe later this week I'll have some real progress to show. Or maybe not. Only time will tell. Now, it's time to set my alarm clock and get some shut-eye. After all, tomorrow is a big day, and not an average day.


468x60-3.png

You'll more likely win just a few Satoshis per hourly spin, but it's an easy way to dip your toes in the Bitcoin ecosystem. Referral link.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center