Wednesday walk, pod-walk in Hoorn the Netherlands

Hello Wednesday walkers.

Do you know how fun it is to go on a photography walk? I do it often with a couple of others Instagrammers and I think it is a lot of fun.

This day we were invited by the West Fries museum to walk around the city during a pod-walk.
That is listening too a podcast while you walk trough the city. The podcast tells you witch way you need to walk and were you need to stop to listen to the podcast. They will tell you about the location you are standing at that moment and you will learn a lot about the history of the town.

We started out at this "old woman's gate" this was a living community for old lady's in the monastery gardens. This monastery was build in 1404 but parts of it burned down in 1606. they rebuild the burned down part in 1610 and since then they founded the old women's house.

2X9A3363.jpg

2X9A3355.jpg

2X9A3354a.jpg

2X9A3361.jpg

The building was used as a bank, hospital, music school and now I am not sure what it is used for. I thought it was an old peoples home now. I cant remember what the pod-cast told me about this place.

2X9A3402.jpg

This is the hair house, or the barber.

One of the most crooked houses in town. Completely sunk into the clay soil. of course this is well maintained and well supported. it will not sink any further for the time being.

2X9A3374.jpg

2X9A3388.jpg

2X9A3375.jpg

2X9A3372.jpg

This is the second oldest church in Hoorn, "de Ooster kerk" The history here begins in 1453 when they built a wooden chapel there which was replaced by a stone chapel in 1519. On the wall of this building you see the date 1616. That is because in 1606 the entire facade had collapsed after a heavy storm. They rebuilt the facade in 1616.

2X9A3404.jpg

Today this church is used as a public living room. It is now rented out as an event location.

2X9A3405.jpg

2X9A3398.jpg

Look at all those little streets. And many of those houses are build around the year 1600. the golden age of Hoorn.

2X9A3391.jpg

2X9A3368.jpg

2X9A3369.jpg

2X9A3371.jpg

Next week part two of this pod-walk around Hoorn.

Thank you for reading my post! And if you want to see all the places I have ever been to, just click on my Travelfeed profile!

And if you want to follow my daily life, I often post stories and pictures off all the tings I do in life on my Instagram account!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center