In search of the chewing gum girl.

SPG_8789.jpeg

Overleigh Cemetery, on the banks of the River Dee, just outside the city, of Chester: I was searching for the Urban Myth, The Chewing Gum Girl.

SPG_8794.jpeg

SPG_8790.jpeg

SPG_8792.jpeg

SPG_8791.jpeg

An ancient graveyard, consecrated in the Mid 19th century. had according to the local press become overgrown. Cheshire County Council, blamed excess rainfall for a spurt in growth of the shrubbery and grass.

Hmm! wonder what they blamed for the over flowing rubbish bins and general unkempt appearance in general. Show some respect you vainglorious small town sheriffs.

SPG_8796.jpeg

I really enjoy wandering through ancient graveyards, reading the sad and often poignant memorials

Passing a very new part on my quest, "The baby garden"

SPG_8814.jpeg

SPG_8811.jpeg

SPG_8813.jpeg

SPG_8815.jpeg

SPG_8816.jpeg

I don't know? Is this wonderful? weird? tragic? What would I have done in a similar situation?

Behaved in this manner?
Or take a more refined position?

SPG_8795.jpeg

SPG_8818.jpeg

Alas, I was wandering aimlessly round I needed help, and came across a group of guys busy grass cutting and path clearing!!!!

Speaking to the head honcho he led me to where I wanted to be, chatting en-route about the guys who were working; they were under his control, the probation service, offenders carrying out community service. Doing what the council had given up on.

Good on them! Worthwhile cause, no photos allowed but a pat on the back for them.

I arrived.

The Chewing Gum girl

SPG_8797.jpeg

Eerily life sized expertly carved

SPG_8802.jpeg

Mabel Francis Ireland-Blackburn, died age 3yrs old, 13th November 1869. She died of whooping cough.

SPG_8800.jpeg

In Victorian times the churches of all religions were still all powerful and considered most things a sin against their god.

Controlled by the popes and the bishops, from their ivory towers feeding off the fat of the land, whilst the poor remained poor. The rich trying to buy their way into the "afterlife".

What was the heinous crime attributable to poor Mabel's demise?

Chewing gum, yes chewing gum and the lord god almighty allowed her to choke to death. Let this be a warning to all children that chewing gum is a sin against the omnipotent being.

A notice to this effect they placed near her grave

Liars. Evil Liars.

SPG_8804.jpeg

SPG_8805.jpeg

"Chewing gum, chewing gum, made of wax
Brought me to my grave at last.
When I die, God will say "Throw that dirty stuff away!"

A ditty local children in their ignorance ended up singing as they played.

SPG_8807.jpeg

Her grave is often visited as can be seen from the various items placed around it

SPG_8806.jpeg

R.I.P. Mabel

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now