Shadow Walking


Morning magic, isn't it the best? I stepped out into my day, giving the flowers on the porch a little love. To them, that means a little bit of water. I have more than a few pots on my porch, some with two or three tiers, allowing for the same footprint, but, more flowers. This is one of the three layers of beauty. Instead of putting a pot inside to hold the soil, I use sphagnum moss and make a basket to put the soil in.

I put all the moss in a bucket and fill it with water. I let it soak overnight, and they take it out and mold it into the shape of the planter. I make sure there is a generous amount of moss. Let it dry overnight and then add soil, plants, and water thoroughly. I keep them in there until frost comes, close to December, sometimes later.


20210508_110352 (1).jpg


I know! It is hard getting by the plants, everyone looks like they need a little attention! I haven't watered in a few days, and with the extreme heat, everyone is feeling a little wilty. If you look closely, you can see this going to seed! Do you see the seed beginning to form in the middle of the flower? That means I really need to deadhead these flowers. Do you spend any time deadheading or do you just let your plants go to seed?


20200717_183600.jpg


This is the bottom part of the three-tiered basket. I really liked these petunias last year so I got them again this year. I have already had them for over four months and they still look fresh and vibrant. I will have to make a note on getting them again next year. I make notes on what looks great and what looked only okay. I have been known to get the same loser two years in a row... loser sounds harsh... let's just say some things would have worked better! Okay! We have fussed enough with the plants. We need to head out for a walk. Step right this way!


20210508_110406 (1).jpg


I post these flowers almost every day. They are common Yarrow and they are delightfully ferny and every blooming. As you can see, the purple flowers are turning white, which means they are going to seed. (Good night! They are all trying to reseed on me!) I will snip them down, some of them, all the way to the ground. Sounds harsh, but, no worries, in no time, they will rebound!

They are framed by the Stella D'oro lilies that are yellow and a Hydrangea bush in the back. I think I have six hydrangeas in the yard, each a different color. There is one in the front garden that is almost to the second story. It is insane. I didn't know they could get that big! It has giant white masses of flowers.


20210606_065010.jpg


I want to thank @Tattoodjay for hosting the #WednesdayWalk challenge! It is a challenge that allows you to share what you see as you walk through your day. Show me where you walked today, I want to see what you got to see and hear what you have to say. If you want to do the challenge, drop him a link on his #WednesdayWalk post here, so he can try to visit yours! Whatever your day looks like, it is worth a walk-through. You can't always have sunshine and rainbows, but, you can always have a #WednesdayWalk!


20210606_070434.jpg


We are just taking the neighborhood by storm today. We will walk until the sidewalk ends, which is never! I love the fact that I can stay right close to home, yet walk endless miles if I want to. The view is different no matter which way you go. Lately, I have contractors doing work on a few things, from damage received when a burst pipe, I know, right? How can you say, Lucky Duck? I need to be available. But, some days, things just line up perfectly. Today is one of those days. Insert a big smile here! Don't you love the purple clematis? That is a lamp post it became besties with. They bloom all spring, right to the Autumn. Big, vibrant flowers. It was instalove when I met my first clematis.


20210612_112150.jpg


I like the big, long stretches of road we have here. It gives me a little bit of freedom to do a sprint. Now, just listen up. Hang onto the camera, hold it close to your body and let's go! Just a short one!
Come on! Let's go!


20210624_074722.jpg


I am le tired. I didn't expect to keep it up, down one block and up another. But, it does feel good, mixing it up a little bit. Sometimes I don't sprint at all, but, I walk an extra mile or an extra few steps. We don't have to kill ourselves, just get out and do a little. I am not looking to run a marathon, but, a little bit of extra movement makes me feel alive. Isn't that sort of the point?

At work or in play, I like to make the most out of my day. I love that JJ @tattoodjay has created this day for us to get out of our comfort zone and move it around. I have skirted the entire (almost) neighborhood, running some of it, so the pictures are sporadic.

I have to admit, I love the shadows created here. The white picket fence is kind of cool! I spy my house straight ahead! The grey one is beyond the fence that you can see. Thank you for taking the time to come on a walk with me. I has been my pleasure!


20210623_082842.jpg>


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.


20210617_101927.jpg


Flowers. Asiatic Lilies to be exact. Flowers. Always. To color my world. #alwaysaflower. And just like that, this post is over! Come back tomorrow and we will do it again! Have a fabulous day ahead!

W5LtFUPm6g7293LJ3Vg8LGMxSXJbQHxtovyJAqw2j9RsivpZ42Ycyswj1Tzss1cqTWCvrF2HGPcMKHifCuQ1yT7Cncf6MweiwZbf2C89cSmhmwBDh6bzz5kpfTLDNa3epU6ozDSeFhFM5dPoYDiF2VAYE1rPQ.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg

silverbloggers logo.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center