I craved, walked, and ate Pares Mami

Since yesterday, I've been drooling and craving Pares Mami. It has been a very long time since I got the chance to eat one because I wasn’t able to go out frequently. Thus, there’s still a fear that I will get something I shouldn’t get outside. This time, however, I faced it and attempted to walk around our subdivision in search of Pares Mami. I hadn't eaten Pares Mami in a long time and had no idea where I could find one.

HivePH webinars Filled with comprehensive knowledge and experience (6).png

I decided to invite my sister to accompany me. She wasn't particularly busy, so she gladly accepted my invitation. The weather seemed to be pleasant because it was cloudy and pleasant for walking. Going out in the heat and humidity of the king sun is not an option for me. And since we lived in a subdivision, all of the houses resembled one another. When they add an extension in front, they will be distinguished from one another.

We walked for about 18 minutes before arriving at the main gate. Three guards were found inside the guard house, and the rest were scattered around. There were 9-11 guards on duty when the lockdown was still rigorously enforced. I simply can not imagine you trying to break the health protocols because you'd be forced to face something you don't want to face.

Green pastures surround the subdivision. This is the view from the left side, while the right side has a farm field view that is currently being turned into houses. The back of the subdivision is densely forested with banana trees.

You'll notice the long, large house owned by the former vice-mayor before we get to the main road. He worked for our municipality for a long time, and I'm not sure if he's retired yet.

We eventually made it to the main road and discovered this Pares Mami stall. The vendor was young and entertaining. He mentioned how wonderful his Mami is. I must admit that it smells so good. The large casserole was the second batch of the day, which is why it appears to be full.

The strong aroma and delicious taste of the beef are what I enjoy most about this Pares Mami. The beef was tender and easily chewed, with a variety of toppings. It typically contains pepper, onion stalks, lemon, soy sauce, and garlic. The flavor would be determined by whether you prefer it spicy, salty, or dull. I had good conversations with the vendor, seeing as I estimated we were the same age.

He started telling me a few facts about himself and the business. He appears to be calm and relaxed about his work. I was impressed that he found a way to start a business last February 2022 while also studying. Can you imagine how much he ended up working to balance his studies and his business at the same time? Spectacular!

We walked back to our house after I received my order. Both inside and outside of our subdivision, there are numerous grocery stores, vegetable vendors, homemade foods, thrift shops, seafood vendors, and convenience store chains such as Alfamart and Puremart. We don't require a trip to the local supermarket as we do at Tanza Public Market.

My sister took photos of me from behind while I was walking. I was in charge of the two Pares Mami orders. If you walk back and forth, then it will take you around 30–50 minutes. I was having a good time walking with my sister. She was laughing at me because I am always looking at the camera whenever she takes a photo of me.

This is the clubhouse of Phase-A. There is another one in Phase B, which is also near to our house. Some events happen here, like birthday parties, debut parties, wedding receptions, vaccination sites, and Sunday mass gatherings. There is a court beside it, but I didn’t take a photo since our direction is not that way.

When we reached home, I sat in one of our chairs to rest a bit because my legs were shaking after a long walk. My mother transferred the Pares Mami to the bowls. It smells so nice, but my youngest sister didn’t like the smell. She was puking just by inhaling it. I asked to go out and play outside rather than smelling the Pares Mami and puking.

Finally, my craving for Pares Mami was solved. I loved it. Usually, after class during face-to-face classes at the university, my friends and I would eat Pares Mami before going home. Back then, one order was around PHP35-40, but today it’s PHP50. It’s understandable how inflation affected the goods. That’s what my Wednesday walk looked like, and if you crave something, Don’t hesitate to go out and hunt for the food you like to eat. We only live once!


Denn Marc Cenizal

Hi, welcome to Denn's humble world! He is a bona fide student of Cavite State University taking up a BS in Computer Science. He is a father of 10, 10 rabbits. He is an introvert and extrovert person, meaning is the ambivert? He loves gardening and collecting plants. His hobbies are raising rabbits, watching series, and writing haikus. He’s here to fulfill his dream to read his writings.

If you want to support his content, just hit your upvote button, and leave a meaningful comment. Stay tuned to his daily blogs!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center