Views above the ceiling: The evening is falling, but it leaves behind an important lesson for me...

20240902_182534.jpg

Everyone, without exception, I think we have all experienced, even once in our lives, that feeling of direct connection with the elements of nature.... That's why we love the vast green valleys we have witnessed; or feel diminutive before the overwhelming but hypnotic presence of the sea itself. It simply seems that we cannot remain indifferent to the spell of beauty... Something similar, barring certain exceptions, happened to me last Wednesday...

I came home from work, unusually ‘early’ that day. For reasons beyond my control, but which did benefit me, the public transport driver seemed to be in a hurry, and from the office where I am most hours of the week, Monday to Saturday, I was able to get home more efficiently than is usually the case. I head to the kitchen, make a coffee (I didn't have time to prepare that day because I woke up late and everything got complicated). I didn't have a bad day, but I'm a woman who goes too fast.

20240902_182925.jpg

20240902_182534.jpg

You see, I was practically alone at home, mentally I didn't want to waste any more hours glued to a screen... I just wanted to enjoy myself a bit like the monkey. I just wanted to enjoy myself a bit as the monotony of the routine culminated yet another afternoon... Suddenly, I find myself in the area of my house where I usually do the laundry, which gives access, by means of a ladder, to the roof... Although I don't have what you might call a balcony or a terrace, I was honestly captivated by the idea immediately...

By that time, you could say, it was getting late in the afternoon... Close to sunset, but well past the golden hour. Come on, it was about 5:30 p.m. or 6:00 p.m., no later than that... Seeing that I was alone, because my daughter was at dance practice, I made myself comfortable, took the thermos of freshly brewed coffee with me and set out to go up to the roof. I had excellent judgement, let me tell you.... It is well known that views improve with perspective, and being higher off the ground, I honestly felt that this was the way to end a day with dignity.

20240902_183109.jpg

20240902_183418.jpg

20240902_183712.jpg

And what can I tell you? The views of my neighbourhood from the rooftops, from the heights, gave me that sense of belonging but at the same time, a smile that I couldn't hide why? Well, guys who read me, it's impossible for a girl not to be moved or amazed by those little surprises that the unexpected gives you. And don't forget, after a certain age, you inevitably leave behind certain amusements in order to acquire other responsibilities? Hence the bitterness of growing up, and having this small, humble but cosy space is more than well used by me.

Sometimes we forget that we are not creatures removed from our environment. Although we have conquered all the spaces on Earth, we should not leave behind the union, the link with the sun or the simple contemplation of seeing a landscape in a different or slightly different light to what we are used to. Clearly, even I had not been able to notice this small but powerful treasure that I possessed in my own home. And as a result of that discovery, I set myself the goal of creating a small terrace. Intimate, comfortable, personal and totally meaningful. For my undefined moments of longing for something more inspiring... It happened on a random Wednesday, without planning and without looking for it. I learned the lesson of enjoying the here and now but with a better, more beautiful perspective.

20240902_183641.jpg

20240902_182814.jpg

All photographs and content used in this post are my own. Therefore, they have been used under my permission and are my property.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center