Walks in Thasos - When the walk is more enjoyable than the beach

I am, like most people, adept at movement and walking, walking is by far the most enjoyable and easy form of movement, outside the home. I got into the habit, every Wednesday, writing something about the walk following the rules of @tattoodjay's @WednesdayWalk challenge and the #Pinmapple map!

The rules are simple and can be summarised as follows:

"Try and get out once a week for a short walk, which can be from your office, home, or anywhere really, and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of."

Nothing could be simpler, easier, nicer, and more permissive! That's why this challenge is tried by so many here in Hive.

My walks in this winter season that is not winter, or is winter for a few days and then turns into autumn and spring, are not so spectacular, I can say they are even boring and that's why I resort to memories of summer walks. Warm and pleasant memories.

Below I will try to show why I preferred walking instead of the beach in my holidays on Thasos Island in Greece...

I must admit now that I have no greater joy and excitement than when I get close to this island. The joy is twofold, both that I will be leaving the "ship" because I am very afraid of the deep water, and that I will be back in my favorite vacation spot, which I always dream about after I leave there.

Thasos is an island in the Aegean Sea, in northern Greece. It is a mountainous island, one of the largest of Greece's thousands of islands.

On the island, there is everything for all tastes... Modern hotels, resorts for those with special comfort needs...

Normal hotels, modest hotels, villas, and houses where people can find a place to stay. Obviously, I think it's obvious that I choose a small, normal hotel with sufficient comfort and great hosts. The main criterion of choice, when I think about location, is that it is close to... the forest. Not the beach... the forest, I'm not wrong!

The explanation is simple, my wife and I, I mean us, prefer walks...

...instead of sunbathing. Now I must confess the truth, for decades we preferred the beach, but now, age and health force us to choose the walk.

To tell the whole truth, we haven't given up on the beach and sea bathing altogether. It's impossible to do that when you end up on an island. It's just that we've only reduced our beach time to no more than an hour a day.

Walks, on the other hand, take up much more of our time on the island. That's four to five hours a day. Walks through small towns and villages, mainly to see the old, well-preserved, and still inhabited parts.

The favorite place to walk on extremely hot summer days remains the pine forest.

By chance, the first time I went to Thasos, I chose Limenaria as my resort. It was a very good choice, especially as I found my favorite breakfast and coffee place 4 km away in another resort, Potos. This helped us to take long walks, 8 - 10 km a day. Each time crossing a pine forest.

Probably this route, Limenaria-Potos, is very popular and used by tourists. I think this is because there is a path that connects these places which makes walking easier.

Obviously, here it is outside the forest and this helps to see other landscapes and the relief and vegetation specific to the island and the Mediterranean climate.

Moreover, this trail also crosses an olive grove. Of course, you can't imagine Greece without olive trees!

The olive trees are one of the island's riches, pine honey is another, much sweeter...

Walks can be tedious sometimes if they are too long, but that can't happen here. Two beaches are on this route. A beach is hidden from view, a beach for connoisseurs... Paralia Metalia.

... and a beach, actually a small resort called Pefkari, very popular with tourists, a resting place for us on our way to coffee.

Finally, I must point out something else that seems characteristic of the Greek islands. Domestic goats that are... wild. So I think, these goats live free in the woods and orchards but I think they still have an owner.

After such a long and enjoyable walk, all you can wish for is a shower...

... and then, just rest, maybe...

... looking at a flower!

God, how I miss those walks!

If you've read this far and aren't in the HIVE already, may I ask you a few questions? Do you want to earn for writing? Do you have passions or skills that you want to show others? Do you want to earn crypto like we have been doing for over six years? Referral link for a FREE account HERE

every_picture.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency