Events since the lightning strike: Following up

20230708_115847.jpg
I got this PC in 2019, it was a GAMING PC, but I only wanted it for the most excellent Video Card (GEFORCE GTX)
It had very annoying LED lights around those two fans on the right. I got my friend to cut those wires.
Last Sunday, we had a lightning strike very close by, knocking out power for over 6 hrs.
When the power came back, my PC did not. Nothing I could do would get any response.
I took it to the store where I purchased it, paid $40 diagnostic fee and was told it would be Saturday (TODAY) before they could even take a look at it.
Then I rigged my Laptop to serve in its place here in my bedroom

20230705_102945.jpg
Imagine my surprise and chagrin, when I was called on Thu to be told my Motherboard was toast, so I bought a new pc, same company and set up, but it's slightly smaller, more powerful processor, faster video processing, but it has those BLOODY LIGHTS

20230705_174105.jpg
Then began the arduous task of regaining my data and apps. OH GOD I hate that part.

20230708_123812.jpg

Thursday, my WORKING printer, would not show nor be recognized by the computer, then the printer just died.
I asked my IT Guru to come have a look at the new machine and try to help me figure out this mystery. The latest idea is that the surge can IN through the printer (which was not on any surge protection) traveled the USB to the PC frying it.
He ended up GIVING me an older but working
Brother MFC (Multi Function Center) All in one printer scanner.
Still have to get this monster inside and figure out where to put it


Yesterday I went to my Guru's house. When I moved to this area in 2009 he and his family (and his IT business) were in the home nextdoor, but he grew tired of the city, so many people, the crimes and shootings, so he bought a BUNCH of land in Paulding County

image.png
I didn't get to see much, because "the bridge" across the creek at the back was very rickety

20230707_115439.jpg
The dog liked it

20230707_115324.jpg
Lily the donkey took a liking to me.
Two asses in one photo

20230707_113632.jpg

20230707_113625.jpg
Here she is giving me the evil eye

20230707_113306.jpg
They have other horse type animules

20230707_113255.jpg
Here are Lily and "Freckles" who they say is the mama and alpha animule

20230707_113022.jpg
Way in the back there is the stud who isn't very friendly
The afternoon started with feeding time followed by spraying (The Ticks are very bad this year, but far worst across the stream)

20230707_113007.jpg


So to hopefully avoid this expensive exercise in computer replacement, this printer/scanner will NOT be connected to the PC via USB, it will serve wirelessly (in a perfect world anyway)

Oh! I almost forgot!

image.png
source
When I pulled into my drive and started shutting down, then and only then did I notice the HATED Low Fuel light.
Luckily my neighbor had some gas in a can, which allowed me to get to the station safely.
I know, I know, when that light comes on you should have around 50 miles left, but in this case I had no idea how long it had been illuminated.
Such adventures

"My Week in Review"

by
Jerry E Smith
©07/08/2023
All images original or sourced


Badges.jpg





Self Portrait from about 1978

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now