Honing Your Budgeting Skills | Alive Video Masters Series


alive video masters.jpg


Hello and welcome to Team Alive. You can also join us on wearealiveand.social. I'm continuing on this Alive Video Masters series to assist new and upcoming members taking part in the #iamalivechallenge and #aliveandthriving. Shoutout to @flaxz, founder and organizer of @wearealive tribe on Hive.

Updates from last week, the cooling installation was completed last Friday night. Glad that we've been using it for a week now, and it has helped a lot in terms of cooling the unit. As a result, I find myself feeling a bit more productive after work hours. However, it doesn't stop there as there's sure to be a rise in the cost of electricity. Uh-oh!

I read on the news headline that our April inflation will likely hit 6.3-7.1%. Is that any surprise at all? For months now, we've been able to buy less with the same amount of money. No fun indeed. Well, let's take that opportunity to hone our budgeting skills.

Different strokes for different folks. I can't tell you how to budget or spend your hard-earned pay. It's your hard work so you're entitled to that. I can only share from my own experience. First off, there's luxury vs. essentials. I make it a point to know the difference between what I can't put off paying -- monthly expenses, food & groceries -- and the extra luxury items -- Starbucks coffee & other treats. I focus on the need, then just treat myself when I have extra now and then. Oh, I also make a list of stuff I'm saving for. I also try to stay away from ads and sales. I know it could be tempting. LOL! If you're an impulse buyer, that's going to add up and you'll end up owning more stuff than you really need.

The way I envision it is I want to have more pay at the end of the days or pay cycle so I still have extra when the next one comes. That's preferable to having more days at the end of your pay. That's tragic.

Well, it's the weekend so hopefully you can set aside some time to check and adjust your budget. The time is ripe to improve and get better at budgeting. We need this skill for survival.

That is it for this week. I'll see you again next week for another episode of Alive Video Masters. Till then, enjoy the (long) weekend (if you're celebrating Labor Day on May 1st).

For further questions, join us on discord.

alivevideomasters.png

Join us on We Are Alive tribe discord



iamraincrystal.png

credits for the new banner: @stdd

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center