Recap culinary journey on Sunday - Tuesday, August 13, 2024

Last Sunday, I posted about the green nature in Yogyakarta. There should be a post again about my culinary journey but I was already too tired before. So, this is a recap of my culinary journey on August 11, 2024. It was posted on my Instagram story. My Instagram ID is the same as this Hive account, @cursephantom 👍. I tried 3 places so far while waiting for the train.


Culinary journey

I woke up at 11:00 AM. I must check out from my capsule hotel at noon and need to wait for the train at 10:46 PM. There are more than 10 hours of free time.


First of all, I had lunch on Nasi Kandar Tuan Agung. Walking 450 meters with my suitcase and bags. My friend recommends this place. Nasi Kandar is a Malaysian food that already spread around Indonesia because of its good taste. It usually comes with spiced rice, Kandar sauce, and a complement such as vegetables, seafood, or meat. There are a lot of choices. I want beef but sadly, it's already sold out.

So, I ordered it with an Indonesian omelet and honey chicken. It cost me 70k IDR ~ US$4.42. With this big chicken and big omelet, it's worth it. The sauce is sweet, a little spicy, and has an umami flavor (Ofc, there'll be MSG 🤣).


I also don't forget to buy a souvenir which is Abon Gulung Khas Jogja. Food is better than things.

I finished eating at 01:00 PM. With so many hours left, I went to the second destination in Lippo Plaza Jogja. It's 3 KM from Nasi Kandar Tuan Agung.

I walked with my luggage without worry. Yogyakarta is quieter than the main city. I didn't see any traffic jams except because of a red light. With a big sidewalk, it's easy to walk there with a suitcase. Some locals saw me and asked for a ride with their Becak but I politely refused because I wanted to look around freely.

For me who likes to walk, 3 KM is easy. It's even better with less pollution from vehicles. I took some photos that I used in last Sunday's post. I arrived at 02:35 PM at my next destination, Iga Bakar Si Bangor in Lippo Plaza Jogja.

Some Foodies shared this place and I saw a lot of it on my Instagram dashboard. Last Sunday was the time that I tested it. Is it really that good? Ordered Meltique steak with Kopyor (Beef fat) for more umami. It's still hot and sizzling when arrive at my table.


I made a video for tender and juicy test first before eating the first bite. The tenderness and juiciness are better than normal. After taking a bite, it's soft, juicy, and thick. Meltique Steak and Ice Lemon Tea cost me the same amount as Nasi Kandar which is 70k IDR. The portion was quite small but this is beef... I think I can say it's worth it to try 🤤. Usually, I need to pay around 100k for this meltique steak with the same portion and taste in Jakarta.


My belly was full because of Nasi Kandar and Meltique steak but I still had more time to wait for my train. I took a break while charging my phone first before continuing to the next destination which was Steak Tenda Jogja 2. It's a beef steak again 🤣. I got it from the Instagram dashboard and they said it's good because of their sauce. Lunch Nasi Kandar at 12:00, Meltique Steak at 15:00, and I think the dinner would be around 18:00. After my phone was full and my stamina was back again, I walked to the next destination. It's 2.7 KM from Lippo Plaza Jogja. I wanted to look around Lippo Plaza Jogja but it's small and hard to change floors with a suitcase. Walking and looking around is better 😂.


After around 1 KM, I took a break in front of Indomaret (A supermarket). Bringing a suitcase, 2 small bags, a tote bag, and a plastic bag was really a tiring matter for my hand 😂. My legs were still okay to walk tho. There's someone who talks to me while I'm sitting there, he invites me to join an affiliate community. We share information tho I didn't like to join a community like that (No talent). I'll try to see someone who can become my promotor later (different approach) 🤣. Continued to walk to the last destination, Somehow I had a bad feeling because it did not have any customers when I arrived.

Well, I check it on Instagram and they're there at night. Maybe, it'll be crowded at night. Time to taste it. It's good to eat there because there's a lazy wind and nature besides that. Sad to see that their menu is kinda full of strikethrough (which means sold out). It's more like no stock rather than sold out tbh. The recommendation menu on Instagram also got strikethrough. I ordered Sirloin Premium Medium Rare with Blackpepper Sauce and Blackcurrant Squash. Tender check... Not tender enough... It's medium to medium well, not a medium rare 😑. Juicy check... No juice poured out... 😑. It's not generous too with the sauce... I think it's clickbait or mismanagement. The restaurant can't keep up with its quality. Tho the price is cheaper than usual, but this taste isn't worth it 🤣. The taste is normal 5/10. At least, the blackcurrant squash is good and cheaper than usual. After having dinner, I call an online taxi to take me to the train station. It's dark and I feel something bad will happen if I walk with all my luggage on the dark road.

It's good to have a culinary journey to taste something that I haven't tasted before. There are still so many foods that I want to try. I hope I have a chance to test everything on the list 🤤.

Have a nice day everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments