Too Much Or Just The Right Amount Of Filter




Image designed by me with Canva

Pictures they say speak more than a 1000 words. Since a very long time, pictures have been a way we use to document important stuff which include memories. Now, pictures are not used for only creating memories but are also used for a lot of things like passports and other important documents. From pinhole cameras to very advanced high tech cameras, pictures have become very good and beautiful to admire.

I am someone who does not take a lot of photos. Sometimes I only take when I am at an event or I feel it has been very long I took a picture. Other times even at an event, you have to force me to take a picture. I guess I am not just photogenic. When it comes it photos and filters I think my preference is fairly straightforward.

Imagine me not liking pictures so that just says I do not really have the time for filters. Honestly, most of the time, I just take the picture with the phone’s camera and hope for the best. I hope for the best because I am not a very good poser neither am I a good photographer. @nhaji01 always harasses me for taking bad pictures 😅. But I’m getting there.




no filter

I do not have a problem with filters or anyone who decides to use them. It’s a choice and they are there to be used. They wouldn’t be there if they were completely useless. Some people I know just play with the filters for fun to look funny and post them online or save for future laughs. Others use filters to look more beautiful.

However, I have a problem with filters when it becomes too much. My problem is when you always use filters and too much editing for your photos. There are some people who look nothing like their photos and to be honest if you see them in reality, you will not be very pleased. I read @sperosamuel15 who narrated how he met a complete different person to the one he knew online😂. My man couldn’t see anything right for 2 weeks.

I guess this is the problem with filters. When you use them too much, you tend to be more of a different person. Maybe you have two identities then. Personally, I haven’t met anyone online who is very different from the online face.




Filtered image

The experience I have had though was on Eid day when I went to celebrate with my aunt in Kumasi. That was the day I really understood why they say you shouldn’t propose to a lady on Eid or a special occasion. All the ladies were looking very fine and truly like fine art. The make up these women did didn’t make them look bad but it actually made them look good.

After the celebrations I met one of the women and I was very surprised. She had changed almost completely and if not because I stole glances at the Eid ground and really stared, I wouldn’t have been able to recognize her.

Personally, I do not even edit my pictures. I post them as they are taken. Some of the edited photos I have were done by friends. I do not really fancy or have the time to edit. They don’t just excite me hehe. Nonetheless, I admire pictures that were taken well and edited well. I mean we’ve still got to appreciate nice things. But I wouldn’t use filters and even if I did start using them, I wouldn’t do it a lot.

All images used are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now