Saving lives after death [EN/PT]

Se preferir ler esse conteúdo em Português, clique aqui.

$1


[EN]

Organ donation is always a sensitive subject, but one of utmost importance in both public and private healthcare, as it involves the lives of many people who rely on an act of generosity to survive. In my view, it's a topic that shouldn't even generate controversy.

I am an organ donor. It’s an act of solidarity and compassion. I see no sense in keeping my organs to be cremated— in my case when I die—or buried, knowing that they could be useful for the survival of other human beings.

In this regard, I consider myself somewhat radical. I believe that organ donation should be mandatory. In a healthcare system where all healthy organs from deceased individuals are utilized, the waiting list for a transplant could drastically decrease. How many people spend years waiting, only to die without getting a chance? The flow of donations would save many, many lives, and I believe it would also reduce costs and the time spent on palliative treatments.

We often talk about having empathy for others, and this would have a very positive impact on that. Society as a whole would be compelled to develop a mindset of acceptance, seeing the greater good that comes as a result of organ donation.

Of course, every action has its positives and negatives, and mandatory organ donation would be no different. The freedom to choose what happens to one's body after death is very personal and often tied to ethical, moral, and even religious convictions. This could be seen as a violation of individual rights.

There’s also the possibility that this might generate some distrust in the healthcare system, with fears that lives could be deliberately cut short for organ harvesting. This obligation could trigger a sense of invasion. And that’s not how such a noble gesture should be viewed. It’s necessary to have open and transparent dialogue, with trust among doctors, patients—both donors and recipients—and their families.

Grief is a delicate process. The pain of a family could be worsened by mandatory organ donation if it wasn’t their wish. When my grandmother passed away, she was a cornea donor. I find it incredible to know that a part of her is still out there, allowing someone else to literally see life again.

Organ donation should be normalized, much like blood donation is, for example. But if it were mandatory, once the government has the power to decide what happens to bodies after death, how far could that control extend?

For me, as an organ donor, the idea of contributing to saving lives with my organs after death is already part of my values. As I mentioned, it doesn’t make sense to me not to do good for those in need when I, being dead, won’t need my organs anymore.

Even though the benefits of mandatory organ donation are clear in terms of the number of lives saved, it’s important to consider the negative impacts on individual freedom, culture, and trust in the healthcare system.


All the content, pics and editions are of my authorship.
Written in PT-BR. Translated to EN-US using ChatGPT.
Cover: created by Canva.


darling.png


[PT]

Doação de órgãos é sempre um assunto sensível, porém de extrema importância no âmbito da saúde, pública ou privada, que envolve a vida de várias pessoas que dependem de um ato de generosidade para sobreviver. Ao meu ver, é um tópico que nem deveria gerar controvérsias.

Eu sou doadora de órgãos. É um ato de solidariedade e compaixão. Não vejo o menor sentido em permanecer com meus órgãos para ser cremada - no meu caso quando morrer - ou enterrado, sendo que isso pode ser útil para a sobrevivência de outros seres humanos.

Nesse quesito, eu me considero até mesmo um pouco radical. Eu acho que a doação de órgãos deveria ser obrigatória. Em um sistema de saúde em que todos os órgãos saudáveis de pessoas falecidas são aproveitados, a fila de espera para um transplante poderia diminuir absurdamente. Quantas pessoas passam anos na espera e acabam morrendo sem ter uma chance? O fluxo de doações salvaria muitas e muitas vidas, além de, ao meu ver, diminuir custos e o tempo de tratamentos paliativos.

Muito falamos sobre ter empatia com o próximo e esse seria um impacto muito positivo nessa questão. A sociedade, de uma forma geral, seria obrigada a desenvolver a mentalidade de aceitação, enxergando o bem maior que vem como resultado da doação de órgãos.

É claro que toda ação tem seu lado positivo e negativo, e com a doação obrigatória de órgãos não seria diferente. A liberdade de escolha do que acontece com o corpo de alguém após a morte é bem pessoal e, por muitas vezes, está atrelada à convicções éticas, morais e, até mesmo, religiosas. Isso poderia ser encarado como uma violação dos direitos individuais.

O caso também pode acabar gerando uma certa desconfiança acerca do sistema de saúde, ao medo de que uma vida possa acabar sendo propositalmente interrompida para a retirada de órgãos... Essa obrigatoriedade tende a desencadear uma sensação de invasão. E não é dessa forma que um gesto tão nobre deve ser encarado. É necessário um dialogo aberto e transparente, com confiança entre médicos, pacientes - doadores e receptores -, e familiares.

O luto é um processo muito delicado. A dor de uma família pode acabar sendo agravada com a retirada de órgãos obrigatória, caso isso não fosse desejo. Minha avó quando morreu, foi doadora de córnea. Eu acho incrível saber que uma parte dela ainda está circulando entre nós e proporcionou que uma outra pessoa pudesse voltar a ver a vida, literalmente nesse caso.

A doação de órgãos deveria ser normalizada, assim como a doação de sangue é, por exemplo. Mas, sendo obrigatória, uma vez que o governo tenha o poder de decidir o que fazer com os corpos após a morte, até onde esse controle poderia se expandir?

Para mim, que sou doadora de órgãos, a ideia de contribuir para salvar vidas com meus órgãos após a morte é algo que já faz parte dos meus valores. Como eu disse, não vejo sentido em não fazer o bem para quem precisa, quando eu, morta, não vou mais precisar daquilo.

Ainda que os benefícios da obrigatoriedade de doação de órgãos sejam claros ao que diz respeito à quantidade de vidas salvas, é preciso levar em consideração os impactos negativos sobre a liberdade individual, a cultura e a confiança no sistema de saúde.


Todo o conteúdo, imagens e edições são de minha autoria.
Escrito em PT-BR. Traduzido para EN-US usando o ChatGPT.
Capa: criada com Canva.

darling.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center