Professional versatility [EN/PT]

Se preferir ler esse conteúdo em Português, clique aqui.

The role of financial rewards in the educational sphere (1).png


[EN]

The choice of what you want to be in life and your professional career are some of the most important parts of a person's life. It is where your daily routine will be shaped, as well as your professional identity and personal satisfaction. For a long time, we had the idea that we should choose one career and stick to it for the rest of our lives. But times have changed (thankfully), and today's reality is different.

I'll take myself as an example. Throughout my professional journey, I have already navigated two distinct fields, both with formal education. At 16, almost 17, I began my first degree. I entered college to study Furniture and Interior Design. At the time, I was very young and not entirely sure about what I wanted. This uncertainty is more common than we might imagine. Still in adolescence, we are not at all prepared for a decision that can change our lives forever. And that is exactly what happened to me.

Soon after starting my studies, I realized that it might not be exactly what I wanted to do for the next, or even the distant, years. I continued with my studies and graduated, but soon after, I enrolled in another college, changing fields. This time, in journalism. It took many years of study, followed by a postgraduate degree. It is a field I love, but it is somewhat saturated here in Brazil. The remuneration is terrible, and I no longer see myself as happy doing the same thing every day.

Therefore, this year, I decided to take a new step in a new field. I will take the entrance exam for Veterinary Medicine, which is another passion of mine. This versatility reflects not only a pursuit of new knowledge but also an adaptation to the changes and opportunities that have arisen at different times in my life.

I believe that having multiple careers has many advantages. Moving through different fields has allowed me to acquire various skills and knowledge, enriching my professional and personal background. I also built a broad and varied network of contacts.

But of course, there are also some disadvantages. In my view, changing careers involves many risks, uncertainties, and instabilities. Starting in a new field almost always means starting from the bottom. Besides demanding a lot of time for education and learning, which involves financial resources, it is also quite difficult to balance new demands with other personal and financial responsibilities.

Weighing everything, I believe that being personally and professionally satisfied is the starting point for everything. Based on my life experiences, I believe that having multiple careers is good. The possibility of transitioning between different fields is enriching.

I enjoy this versatility, taking advantage of new opportunities, and never staying stagnant. The ability to reinvent myself professionally is what drives me.

But I know that this choice is entirely personal and depends on a series of factors, including interests, life circumstances, goals, and personality.

Both approaches have their advantages and disadvantages, and there is no single answer that applies to everyone.


All the content, pics and editions are of my authorship.
Written in PT-BR. Translated do EN-US using ChatGPT.
Cover: created by Canva.


[PT]

A escolha do que quer ser na vida e a carreira profissional são algumas das partes mais importantes da vida de uma pessoa. É ali que o cotidiano será moldado, além da identidade profissional e, também, a satisfação pessoal. Durante muito tempo, tivemos a ideia de que deveríamos escolher uma carreira e segui-la pelo resto de nossas vidas. Mas os tempos mudaram (amém) e a realidade atualmente é outra.

Vou tomar como base eu mesma. Ao longo da minha trajetória profissional, já passei por duas áreas distintas, ambas com formação. Aos 16 anos, quase 17, dei início à minha primeira formação. Entrei na faculdade de Design de Móveis e Interiores. Na época, eu era muito nova, não tinha certeza exata do que eu queria. E isso é mais recorrente do que imaginamos. Ainda na adolescência, não estamos nem um pouco preparados para um decisão que pode mudar nossa vida para sempre. E foi justamente o que aconteceu comigo.

Logo depois de iniciar meus estudos, eu percebi que talvez não fosse exatamente o que eu queria fazer pelos próximos e nem tão próximos anos. Eu continuei com os estudos, me formei, mas, logo depois, ingressei em uma outra faculdade, mudando de área. Dessa vez, no jornalismo. Foram longos anos de estudo, em seguida, uma pós-graduação. É uma área que eu adoro, mas já está um tanto quanto saturada aqui no Brasil. A remuneração é péssima e não me vejo mais tão feliz fazendo a mesma coisa todos os dias.

Por isso, nesse ano, decidi dar um passo novo em uma área nova. Vou prestar vestibular para Medicina Veterinária, que é uma outra paixão minha. Essa versatilidade reflete não apenas uma busca por novos conhecimentos, mas também uma adaptação às mudanças e às oportunidades que surgiram em diferentes momentos da minha vida.

Acredito que múltiplas carreiras tenham muitas vantagens. Passar por diferentes áreas me permitiu adquirir várias habilidades e conhecimentos, enriquecendo a minha bagagem profissional e pessoal. Também contruí uma rede de contatos bem ampla e variada.

Mas claro que também tem algumas desvantagens. Ao meu ver, trocar de carreira envolve muitos riscos, incertezas e instabilidades. Iniciar em uma nova área significa, quase sempre, começar de baixo. Além de demandar bastante tempo na formação e aprendizagem, o que envolve recursos financeiros. Também é um tanto quanto difícil equilibrar as novas demandas com outras responsabilidades pessoais e financeiras.

Colocando tudo em uma balança, eu acredito que estar satisfeito pessoal e profissionalmente é o ponto de partida para tudo. A partir das minhas experiências de vida, eu acredito que ter múltiplas carreiras seja bom. A possibilidade de transitar entre diferentes áreas é enriquecedora.

Eu gosto dessa versatilidade, de aproveitar novas oportunidades, de nunca ficar estagnada. A capacidade de me reinventar profissionalmente é o que me move.

Mas eu seu que essa escolha é totalmente pessoal e depende de uma série de fatores, incluindo interesses, circunstâncias da vida, objetivos e personalidade.

Ambas as abordagens têm suas vantagens e desvantagens, e não há uma resposta única que se aplique a todos.


Todo o conteúdo, imagens e edições são de minha autoria.
Escrito em PT-BR. Traduzido para EN-US usando o ChatGPT.
Capa: criada com Canva.

darling.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now