Life’s challenges and legal battles [EN/PT]

Se preferir ler esse conteúdo em Português, clique aqui.

Life’s challenges.png


[EN]

Life is full of challenges and setbacks, some of which can leave us deeply frustrated and indignant. At certain moments, the only way to seek justice is through the judicial system. In my life, I have faced various situations where I considered, and often did, take legal action—always against companies and organizations, never against individuals.

Having a great friend who is a lawyer and does not charge me fees greatly facilitates my decision to sue when necessary.

UNJUST CHARGES

My first experience with the judicial system happened after I canceled my enrollment at a well-known university in Brazil, where I had signed up for a Petroleum and Gas Engineering course in 2009. I was surprised when the university continued to charge me tuition fees even after I had withdrawn from the course a month after it started.

I tried to resolve the issue directly with the university, but my attempts were ignored. I turned to my lawyer friend, and we filed a lawsuit. I won the case, and the university had to cancel all the unjust charges and compensate me with a certain amount, probably for moral damages, although I don't remember exactly.

WHERE ARE MY GRADES?

My second legal battle also involved a higher education institution. It happened while I was studying Journalism, at the time when I resumed my enrollment in 2013. All the grades for the subjects I took during a semester in 2011, before I had to pause my studies due to personal problems, inexplicably disappeared from the university’s records. Without these grades, I risked losing my academic progress, which could delay my graduation and impact my career.

The university did not provide a satisfactory explanation and refused to correct the situation. Once again, with the support of my lawyer friend, I decided to sue the institution. The process was exhausting, but in the end, justice was served, and I managed not only to recover my grades but also received compensation for moral damages.

BANKING ABUSES

Banks, right? With their complex fee structures, they can often be sources of abuse. I fell victim to abusive fee charges that were not clearly specified in my contract when I opened a business account. Communication with the bank did not yield positive results, so once again, I turned to my lawyer friend to file a lawsuit. It was a tough battle, but justice prevailed, and I got a refund for the unjust fees.

WITHOUT ELECTRICITY

Another episode that led me to court was when an electricity company (guess the name of the company that starts with "EN" and ends with "EL") cut off my energy supply even though I had paid all my bills. This was absurdly horrible, especially because I rely on electricity for my work and daily life.

After unsuccessful attempts to resolve the issue directly with the utility company, I decided to sue them. I won the case and was compensated for the unjust service interruption.

BUT NOT ALL IS A BED OF ROSES...

Not all legal battles are won. I worked for a broadcasting company, affiliated with one of the largest networks in the country, and had to sue them over labor issues. Although I was certain my rights had been violated, I lost the case. This defeat was hard to accept and made me reflect on the difficulties of facing large corporations in court. I suspect the company's power and resources played a significant role in the decision.

SUED BY MY BIOLOGICAL FATHER

Interestingly, I was also sued by my own father when I turned 19. He claimed that I was turning 18 (hahaha) and no longer needed child support since I was working and my mother had remarried. It was a peculiar and somewhat comical case, but in the end, he lost the lawsuit. The court ruled that he should continue paying support as long as I was studying. This was also the last time I faced him.

ACCUSED OF SLANDER

As a journalist, I also faced a slander lawsuit. I wrote an article about a businessman who had been arrested, based on an official police report. The businessman sued me, claiming the article was slanderous. I won the lawsuit, and this victory was a relief, reaffirming the importance of press freedom and journalistic responsibility.

Suing someone or a company is not a decision taken lightly. Each lawsuit brings its own challenges, and the entire process is stressful and time-consuming, at least here in Brazil. Having a lawyer friend certainly facilitated my life in this regard, allowing me to seek justice without the financial burden of legal fees. However, each case required a lot of patience. Moreover, each court victory reinforced my determination never to passively accept injustices, even if it means going all the way to the end.

These experiences taught me that, although the path to justice can be arduous, it is essential to fight for our rights.


All the content, pics and editions are of my authorship.
Written in PT-BR. Translated do EN-US using ChatGPT.
Cover: created by Canva.


[PT]

A vida é cheia de desafios e contratempos, alguns dos quais podem nos deixar profundamente frustrados e indignados. Em certos momentos, a única maneira de buscar justiça é através do Sistema Judicial. Na minha vida, já passei por várias situações em que considerei, e muitas vezes efetivamente, entrei com ações judiciais, mas sempre contra empresas e organizações, nunca contra pessoas.

O fato de ter um grande amigo advogado, que não me cobra honorários, facilita bastante a minha decisão de processar quando necessário.

COBRANÇAS INDEVIDAS

Minha primeira experiência com o sistema judicial aconteceu após cancelar minha matrícula em uma universidade muito conhecida aqui no Brasil, onde havia me inscrito para cursar Engenharia de Petróleo e Gás, em 2009. Fui surpreendida com a continuidade das cobranças das mensalidades mesmo tendo dado baixa no curso, um mês depois de iniciar.

Tentei resolver o problema diretamente com a faculdade, mas minhas tentativas foram ignoradas. Recorri ao meu amigo advogado e entramos com uma ação judicial. Ganhei a causa, e a faculdade teve que cancelar todas as cobranças indevidas e me indenizar um certo valor, acho que por danos morais, não lembro ao certo.

CADÊ MINHAS NOTAS?

Minha segunda batalha judicial também envolveu uma instituição de ensino superior. Aconteceu quando eu ainda estava cursando Jornalismo, na época em que destranquei minha matrícula, em 2013. Em Todas as matérias que cursei durante um semestre em 2011, antes de trancar a matrícula por problemas pessoais, inexplicavelmente, todas as minhas notas desapareceram dos registros da faculdade. Sem essas notas, eu corria o risco de perder meu progresso acadêmico, o que poderia atrasar minha formatura e impactar minha carreira.

A faculdade não deu uma explicação satisfatória e se recusou a corrigir a situação. Mais uma vez, com o apoio do meu amigo advogado, decidi processar a instituição. O processo foi desgastante, mas no final, a Justiça foi feita e eu consegui não só recuperar minhas notas, mas também uma compensação por danos morais.

ABUSOS BANCÁRIOS

Bancos, né? Com complexas estruturas de taxas, que podem muitas vezes ser fonte de abusos. Fui vítima de cobranças abusivas de taxas que não estavam claramente especificadas no meu contrato quando abri uma conta para Pessoa Jurídica. A comunicação com o banco não resultou positivamente e, novamente, recorri ao meu amigo advogado para entrar com um processo. Foi uma batalha dura, mas a Justiça prevaleceu e eu consegui a restituição das taxas cobradas indevidamente.

SEM ENERGIA

Outro episódio que me levou aos tribunais foi quando uma concessionária de energia (quem chutar o nome da empresa que começa com EN e termina com EL, acertou!) cortou meu fornecimento mesmo eu estando com todas as contas pagas. Isso foi absurdamente horrível, especialmente porque dependo de energia elétrica para meu trabalho e vida diária.

Após tentativas fracassadas de resolver a situação diretamente com a concessionária, decidi processá-los. Ganhei o caso e fui indenizada pela interrupção indevida do serviço.

MAS NEM TUDO SÃO FLORES...

Nem todas as batalhas judiciais são vencidas. Trabalhei para uma empresa de radiodifusão, afiliada de uma das maiores emissoras do país, e tive que processá-los por questões trabalhistas. Embora estivesse certa de que meus direitos haviam sido violados, perdi o caso. Essa derrota foi difícil de aceitar e me fez refletir sobre as dificuldades de enfrentar grandes corporações no tribunal. Suspeito que o poder e os recursos da empresa tiveram um papel bastante significativo na deci$ão.

FUI PROCESSADA PELO MEU PAI BIOLÓGICO

Curiosamente, também fui processada pelo meu próprio pai quando completei 19 anos. Ele alegou que eu estava completando 18 anos (hahahaha) e não precisava mais pagar minha pensão, pois eu estava trabalhando e minha mãe havia se casado novamente. Foi um caso peculiar e até um pouco cômico, mas no final, ele perdeu o processo. O tribunal decidiu que ele deveria continuar pagando a pensão enquanto eu estivesse estudando. Essa também foi a última vez que fiquei cara a cara com ele.

ACUSADA DE CALÚNIA

Como jornalista, também enfrentei um processo por calúnia. Escrevi uma matéria sobre um empresário que havia sido preso, baseada em um boletim de ocorrência oficial. O empresário processou-me, alegando que a matéria era caluniosa. Ganhei o processo e essa vitória foi um alívio, reafirmando a importância da liberdade de imprensa e da responsabilidade jornalística.

Processar alguém ou uma empresa não é uma decisão que se toma de ânimo leve. Cada processo judicial traz seus próprios desafios e todo o desenrolar é estressante e muito demorado, pelo menos aqui no Brasil. Ter um amigo advogado certamente facilitou minha vida nesse aspecto, permitindo-me buscar justiça sem o fardo financeiro dos honorários advocatícios. No entanto, cada caso exigiu muita paciência. Além disso, cada vitória no tribunal reforça minha determinação de nunca aceitar injustiças passivamente, mesmo que, para isso, eu tenha que ir até o final.

Essas experiências me ensinaram que, embora o caminho da justiça possa ser árduo, é essencial lutar pelos nossos direitos.


Todo o conteúdo, imagens e edições são de minha autoria.
Escrito em PT-BR. Traduzido para EN-US usando o ChatGPT.
Capa: criada com Canva.

darling.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center