Being a digital influencer is not as simple as it seems [EN/PT]

Se preferir ler esse conteúdo em Português, clique aqui.

$1


[EN]

Being a digital influencer has now become a profession. Ordinary people gain notoriety and become famous by publicly sharing details of their daily lives, opinions, passions, photos, texts, and videos on the internet. But is that really for all of us? Being in front of a camera every day, producing content, managing a public image… well, it’s quite challenging.

Many are mistaken in thinking that a digital influencer just needs to appear in front of the camera, record a few things, and post them. There are a lot of responsibilities involved, just like any other job. In this field, the constant creation of content, engagement with the audience, promoting brands ethically, and maintaining a good reputation are of utmost importance. In my view, the commitment and organization required are far more complex and challenging than the act of “being seen” itself.

I’m confident that the responsibilities associated with the role of a digital influencer wouldn't be a problem for me if I were one. I’m highly committed to everything I take on and set out to do. Anyone who knows me is well aware of that. And this is something many digital influencers need to develop. The pace of content creation is intense. I know this well from working in public relations and often being behind the scenes. The audience has expectations regarding the frequency and quality of the content from the influencers they follow. I’m sure I could manage this seriousness perfectly.

However, what gives me some hesitation about becoming a digital influencer is the idea of having to expose myself in videos. Even though I’m a journalist, putting myself in front of a camera, speaking to a vast audience, and facing public criticism isn’t really my thing. I much prefer staying behind the scenes and writing. Anyone who follows me on web 2.0 social media has probably noticed this. It’s rare to see me in a video, talking, chatting, or sharing something. I’ve been trying to change that a bit, but it’s a real barrier for me. The thought of recording stories or doing live streams, where I’m the focus and the center of attention, makes me very uncomfortable. Especially knowing that many people would be watching. I’m not sure if I could be a digital influencer because of that.

But, like everything in life, adaptation is possible. Often, what prevents us from succeeding at something is simply a lack of experience and practice. Many influencers started without confidence, without the expressiveness in front of the camera, and improved tremendously over time. Who knows, maybe with routine, I’d feel more comfortable in that role. After all, being an influencer brings many rewards, whether professional, personal, or financial.

If I were to become a digital influencer, I would have to think deeply about my personal limits and what I’d be willing to face and how I’d adapt. Interestingly, I’ve been dealing with something similar since becoming the vocalist of a band. The thought of being on stage, with all eyes on me, gives me chills. I’m very shy, and this is something I’ve been working on internally, so when the day of my first performance arrives, I don’t completely freak out.

This aspect of being in front of an audience, showing my vulnerabilities, is the hardest part for me—overcoming the embarrassment, the discomfort, and exposing myself in videos. But, since I never shy away from a good challenge, I know that, if necessary, I could at least try and see how I’d do.


All the content, pics and editions are of my authorship.
Written in PT-BR. Translated to EN-US using ChatGPT.
Cover: created by Canva.


darling.png


[PT]

Ser digital influencer atualmente se tornou uma profissão. Pessoas comuns ganham notoriedade e se tornam famosas por compartilhar, publicamente, detalhes da rotina, da vida, opiniões, paixões, fotos, textos e vídeos na internet. Mas será que isso é para todos nós? Estar, diariamente, em frente a uma câmera, produzindo conteúdo, gerenciando a imagem pública... bom, é um tanto quanto desafiador.

Mas muito se engana quem pensa que um influenciador digital só precisa aparecer na frente da câmera, gravar meia dúzia de coisas e publicar. Há uma séria de responsabilidades envolvidas nisso, como um emprego qualquer. Nessa área, a criação constante de conteúdo, engajamento com o público, promover as marcas com ética e manter a boa reputação, por exemplo, são quesitos de extrema importância. O compromisso e a organização, ao meu ver, são muito mais complexos e desafiadores do que a parte de 'ser visto' propriamente dita.

EU tenho certeza que essas responsabilidades associadas à função de influenciador digita não seriam um problema para mim, caso eu fosse uma. Eu sou altamente comprometida com tudo o que eu assumo e me proponho a fazer. Quem me conhece sabe muito bem disso. E isso é algo que muitos dos influenciadores digitais precisam desenvolver. O ritmo de criação de conteúdo é intenso. Sei bem disso por trabalhar com assessoria de imprensa e estar, por muitas vezes, por trás das câmeras, nos bastidores. O público tem expectativas sobre a frequência que quer material do influencer que segue e, também, da qualidade do que é oferecido. Essa seriedade, eu seria muito capaz de gerenciar perfeitamente.

Porém, o que me causa uma certa hesitação em me tornar uma influenciadora digital é justamente ter que me expor em vídeos. Apesar de ser jornalista, me colocar diante de uma câmera, falar pra um público vasto e enfrentar a crítica pública não é muito a minha praia. Prefiro mil vezes ficar nos bastidores e redigir. Quem me segue nas redes sociais da web 2.0 com certeza já deve ter percebido isso. É raro eu aparecer em vídeo, falando, conversando, contando algo. Eu tenho tentado mudar isso um pouco, mas é uma barreira real para mim. A ideia de gravar stories ou fazer lives, onde eu soou o foco, o centro das atenções, é muito desconfortável para mim. Ainda mais sabendo que teriam várias e várias pessoas vendo. Eu não sei se conseguiria ser uma digital influencer por conta disso.

Mas, como tudo nessa vida, a adaptação é uma possibilidade. Muitas vezes, o que nos impede de ter sucesso em algo é justamente não ter experiência e prática naquilo. Temos vários influenciadores por aí que começaram sem confiança, sem essa expressividade frente às câmeras e melhoraram absurdamente com o passar do tempo. Quem sabe, com a rotina, eu não me sentiria mais à vontade nessa posição. Afinal, ser influenciador traz muitas recompensas, sejam elas, profissionais, pessoais e financeiras.

Para que eu me tornasse uma digital influencer, eu teria muito que pensar e refletir sobre os meus próprios limites pessoais e o que eu estaria disposta a enfrentar e como me adaptar. Curiosamente, eu tenho lidado um pouco com isso desde que me tornei vocalista de uma banda. Pensar em estar em um palco, com toda a atenção voltada para mim, me dá calafrios. Eu sou muito tímida e esse é um ponto que eu venho trabalhando muito internamente para quando chegar o dia da minha primeira apresentação, eu não surtar completamente.

Essa parte de estar frente a um público, mostrar as minhas vulnerabilidades é a mais difícil para mim. Superar a vergonha, o desconforto, me expor em vídeos... Mas, como eu nunca nego um bom desafio, sei que eu posso ao menos, caso seja necessário, tentar e ver como eu me saio.


Todo o conteúdo, imagens e edições são de minha autoria.
Escrito em PT-BR. Traduzido para EN-US usando o ChatGPT.
Capa: criada com Canva.

darling.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center