A moth above the door [EN/PT]

Se preferir ler esse conteúdo em Português, clique aqui.

A moth above the door.png


[EN]

Since I was very young, I have always been afraid of moths. It may seem silly to some people, but these winged creatures, especially the really big ones, terrify me. I swear I don't know why. There must be something about their big wings and unpredictable movements that send shivers down my spine.

There is a very funny story that happened to me many years ago, and whenever I remember it, I laugh out loud - while at the same time hoping that it will never happen again.

I was living in a small apartment that was perfect for me and my dog, Margot. It was just the two of us then; I didn't have Venus yet. Life was going well and I was happy with my routine. I was working as a producer for a pop-rock band, and I was working from home during the week, which gave me some flexibility to organize my schedule and enjoy my passions.

One day I went to the bakery, which was very close to home, and when I came back... something unexpected happened. It was a hot summer day. I entered the gate of the condominium as usual, opened the front door of the house that led to my porch, greeted Margot with a little celebration, and as I went through the porch door into the living room... a giant moth, probably the largest I had ever seen, was perched on the wall just above my door.

My heart was racing and my hands were shaking. I just couldn't get through the door to enter the house. I was paralyzed, staring at this monster that seemed to be challenging me. I knew that if I tried to pass, I might end up sending the moth flying toward me, and I was not willing to risk that. Not at all.

After a few minutes of trying in vain to find the courage, I decided I needed help. I grabbed my cell phone and called my then-boyfriend. He lived about a ten minute walk from my house and answered on the first ring. I explained the situation somewhat frantically, and knowing my fear, he promised to come to my rescue.

While I waited, I tried to stay calm - and keep my distance. I took Margot and stayed away from the creepy creature. We sat by the front door on the porch and watched the moth from a distance as it remained motionless on the wall. Margot kept looking at me, probably wondering why I was taking so long to come inside. After a few minutes that seemed like an eternity, my friend arrived.

He laughed a little at the situation, but quickly realized that I was really scared. He grabbed a broom from inside my house and approached the door. With a quick and careful sweep, he managed to shoo the moth away without harming it, sending it flying. With the way clear, I was finally able to enter the house.

I laugh about the situation now, but I know that if it happened again, I would be paralyzed again. Although my phobias may seem irrational to others, they are very real to me, and sometimes it's necessary to ask for help when faced with something that frightens us. There's no shame in admitting that we need support.

I know that moths are harmless creatures that play an important role in nature. Although they can be frightening to me, they are part of the ecosystem, just like any other animal. I've tried to deal with this fear, and now I don't feel bothered by smaller moths, only the really big ones.

I don't know if this fear will ever go away, but now I try to deal with it in a more balanced way. And of course, whenever I see a moth nearby, I remember that day. It's a funny story and a reminder that we all have our fears, but we can face them.


All the content, pics and editions are of my authorship.
Written in PT-BR. Translated to EN-US using ChatGPT.
Cover: created by Canva.


darling.png


[PT]

Desde pequenininha, eu sempre tive muito medo de mariposas. Pode parecer bobo para algumas pessoas, mas essas criaturas aladas, especialmente as bem grandonas, me deixam apavorada. Eu juro que não sei porquê. Deve haver algo nas asas grandes e nos movimentos imprevisíveis que me causam um arrepio na espinha.

Tem uma história muito engraçada que aconteceu comigo há uns bons anos atrás, mas que eu sempre que lembro, morro de rir - ao mesmo tempo que espero que nunca aconteça novamente.

Eu morava em um apartamento pequeno, que era perfeito para mim e para a minha cachorrinha, Margot. Na época, éramos apenas nós duas, eu ainda não tinha a Venus. A vida seguia tranquila e eu estava feliz com a minha rotina. Trabalhava como produtora de uma banda de pop rock e, durante a semana, trabalhava de casa mesmo, o que me permitia uma certa flexibilidade para organizar meus horários e curtir minhas paixões.

Um dia, eu tinha saído para ir na padaria, que era bem perto de casa e, logo ao voltar... algo inesperado aconteceu. Era uma dia quente de verão. Entrei pelo portão do condomínio, normalmente, abri a porta principal de casa, que dava entrada na minha varanda, fiz a festa de recepção com a Margot e, quando fui passar pela porta de entrada da minha varanda para a sala... uma mariposa gigante, provavelmente a maior que eu já tinha visto, estava pousada bem acima da minha porta, na parede.

Meu coração disparou e minhas mãos começaram a tremer. Eu simplesmente não conseguia passar pela porta para entrar em casa. Fiquei paralisada, olhando fixamente para aquele monstro que parecia estar me desafiando. Eu sabia que se tentasse passar, poderia acabar fazendo a mariposa voar em minha direção, e isso era algo que eu não estava disposta a arriscar. Não mesmo.

Depois de alguns minutos tentando criar coragem - em vão, decidi que precisava de ajuda. Peguei o celular e liguei para o meu namorado na época. Ele morava a cerca de dez minutos de distância a pé da minha casa e ele atendeu na primeira chamada. Expliquei a situação de maneira um tanto quanto desesperada, e ele, sabendo do meu medo, prometeu que viria me socorrer.

Enquanto esperava, tentei manter a calma - e a distância. Eu peguei a Margot e fiquei bem longe daquele bicho medonho. Sentamos na porta de entrada da casa na varanda e fiquei, de longe, observando a mariposa que continuava imóvel na parede. Margot ficava me encarando, provavelmente se perguntando por que eu estava demorando tanto para entrar. Depois de alguns minutos que pareceram uma eternidade, meu namorado chegou.

Ele riu um pouco da situação, mas logo percebeu que eu estava realmente assustada. Pegou uma vassoura dentro da minha casa e se dirigiu até a porta. Com um movimento rápido e cuidadoso, ele conseguiu afastar a mariposa sem machucá-la, fazendo com que ela voasse para longe. Com o caminho livre, finalmente consegui entrar em casa.

Hoje em dia eu rio dessa situação, mas eu sei que se acontecesse de novo, eu ficaria paralisada mais uma vez. Embora minhas fobias possam parecer irracionais para outros, elas são muito reais para mim e, às vezes, é necessário pedir ajuda quando estamos enfrentando algo que nos amedronta. Não há vergonha em admitir que precisamos de apoio.

Eu tenho plena ciência de que as mariposas são criaturas inofensivas, que desempenham um papel importante na natureza. Mesmo que elas podem ser assustadoras para mim, são apenas parte do ecossistema, assim como qualquer outro animal. Eu tenho tentado lidar com esse medo e, hoje em dia, já não me sinto tão incomodada com as mariposas menorzinhas, apenas com as muito grandes.

Não sei se esse medo algum dia vai desaparecer completamente, mas agora tento lidar com ele de uma maneira mais equilibrada. E, claro, sempre que vejo uma mariposa por perto, me lembro daquele dia. É uma história engraçada para contar e um lembrete de que todos nós temos nossos medos, mas podemos enfrentá-los.


Todo o conteúdo, imagens e edições são de minha autoria.
Escrito em PT-BR. Traduzido para EN-US usando o ChatGPT.
Capa: criada com Canva.

darling.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments