Unveiling the Untold Power of Social Media

We're currently in the digital age, and in this era, almost everything around us is driven by this technological innovation and development that has literally changed the face of many things, ranging from interaction, communication, productions, and several others. One of the core and most popular masterpieces of the digital age is social media, which has become a source of entertainment, awareness, and even a stream of income for many. Personally, in my opinion, I believe living without social media in this era is like living an outdated and stagnant lifestyle.

20231130_210749_0000.png

The importance of social media can never be overemphasized. In my opinion, it's one of the best innovative technologies made by mankind, and it has had more positive effects on our lives, world, and ecosystem than its downside has. Like I said, its impact is enormous, and below I'll be sharing some of this so you'll see for yourself and hopefully get convinced to see social media in the same light as I do.

Globalization: social media has brought about global interaction and connectivity that the world has lacked for many years. It has bridged the gap of distance and helped us interact with people across the globe, as well as helping us meet and make friends with people in different countries even without us stepping foot in such countries. This is something the world lacked prior to social media, because back then you could only make friends and interact with people in your vicinity.

Learning and education: in the aspect of learning and education, social media has been one of the best ways to get quality teachings and academic materials that help us get more acquainted with our studies and aid research. You can see loads of pdfs and teaching tutorials on social media platforms like YouTube, Facebook, and several others.

Skills acquisition: this is one of the top reasons why I admire social media. Unlike the olden days, when you'd have to learn everything from someone who might even maltreat you, now you can visit YouTube to learn various skills, from coding to cooking, sewing, and several others, to mention but a few. I remember visiting YouTube most times whenever I wanted to sew a new style of clothing that I didn't know about, and that's the same thing I did when making some shoes.

20231130_210818_0001.png

Business opportunities: social media has created a space that helps different businesses showcase their goods and services to a wider audience, which, at the end of the day, brings about more productivity, globalization, and profit for such businesses than businesses of the same specification that aren't on social media. And that's not to forget the fact that employers can put up their applications online to attract more people, and prospective employees would apply from the comfort of their homes.

Stream of Income: The social media space alone has created multiple job opportunities for people, from social media account managers to digital marketing managers, content creators, influencers, brand managers, and several others, to mention but a few, and you would have seen how many people have already dived into this profession and are doing well for themselves, even more than most government-employed workers. Social media like Facebook, TikTok, Hive, and several others pay those who know how to make the most of it.

With the aforementioned point, I'm sure you'll agree with me that social media is a safe haven for our world and well-being moving forward, and ditching it because of some of its downsides, like;

  • Cyberbullying
  • CyberCrime
  • Addiction
  • Misinformation, and several others aren't enough reasons to ditch it.

My life without social media: I, for one, use social media to improve my skills, learn new things, acquire more knowledge, advertise my skills to the general public, and earn from my interactions with it, so living without social media is more like signing a death warrant or guarantee to stagnancy and not evolving with the modernization of recent innovation that'll not just better our lives but also make our day-to-day activities easier and more seamless.

So imagine leaving all those behind. My life personally will be boring because I'm an introvert. Social media is the only place I get to interact freely, and being away from it is like separating myself entirely from the world. This will bring about boredom and probably pave the way for me to have more social interaction because staying indoors won't grant me any access to communicate, and I'll have to step out and have more physical activities and interactions.

I'll also need to source for another stream of income because most of my social media accounts were used to enhance my finances, and they grant me another stream of income, so not being on social media means doing more engaging and physical jobs that'll most likely get me tired, stressed, and drained if I were to double it with my teaching job.


Thumbnails designed on canva


That's about it for now. I hope you enjoyed the read. Thanks for your time, and have a wonderful night's rest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center