That one thing that takes me off my phone

Before diving into the focal point of the prompt that led to this article, it's worthy of note that I'm a phone addict and literally spend loads of hours on it, so staying off it isn't really something I can do easily given consideration to some of the activities I indulge in with it, but despite all of these and their benefits to me, there is still something I indulge in that has a way of keeping me off my phone despite my addiction, and today I'll love to share it with you.

20231011_233901_0000.png
Image designed here

There are several things that got me addicted to my phone, and one of them is my hunger for communication, interaction with the outside world, and the taste to get updated about happenings around me. Since I'm an introvert who doesn't really have many face-to-face interactions, my phone's serve as the perfect alternative to physical interaction, and this made me stay glued to my phone for hours.

But despite this addiction, there are a few things that can take my attention away from this phone, and there are actually more than one. Yes, that's correct. Despite my addiction, two different things can take me off my phone, and they're times when I'm reading, most especially novels and interesting stories; another is when I'm working in my garden tending the various crops I've therein.

I've always loved reading stories from my childhood, given the fact that my dad was an English teacher and a librarian when I was much younger. That gave me access to different books within the library that I could easily pick up and enjoy all they had to offer. Most times, when I'm reading those stories, I'm literally engrossed and don't want any forms of distraction. I actually admire reading more than watching a movie because I basically picture all the scenes in my head.

20231011_234143_0000.png
Image designed here

The other thing that can take me off my phone, like I stated above, is when I'm in my garden tending the crops and different varieties of plants and crops I've therein, and this is because of my love for nature, the idea of planting, growing my own food, and being around nature. Given the fact that gardening and farming aren't easy tasks but draining ones that can exhaust my strength,

This made me stay more focused on it to have time for the crops and not damage the phone itself. Although recently I joined hive, I now start using my phone's ones in awhile in the garden, and that's because I want to take pictures to document my activities on the farm to publish here on hive, meaning aside from taking photos with it, I don't need it while I'm in the garden.


Image is mine
Coupling with being away from my phone as an addict isn't an easy task to do, but because I also enjoyed the other two activities, what I do is make sure to perform all I need to do on the phone within a timeframe, so I won't have a need to pick it up and get distracted while indulging in those other activities that make me stay off my phone.

For instance, I love to check the hive and meet up with all of my goals. One way to achieve this is by looking at my schedule and available time, and once that has been identified, I try to draw up a plan where I speed up other activities so I can have time for reading or farming, and sometimes I might also first indulge in the farming and reading before picking up the phone so both won't affect the other.

20231011_233505_0000.png
Image designed here


That's about all for today on the subject matter. I hope you enjoyed the read. Thanks so much for your time. Have a pleasant night's rest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center