Texting with respect: My Do's and Don'ts

Texting is something we do every day, whether it’s to friends, family, or even coworkers. It's fast and convenient, but I have certain guidelines that I give myself just so I know that I'm not being rude or unclear in my message. That's what I go by and some things I can't tolerate on that matter of texting.

Source

One of my main rules for myself is to respond to messages as soon as possible. I know how it feels to be left hanging after sending a text, wondering if the person saw it or if they’re just ignoring me. It’s frustrating, especially when you’re asking something important. So, I always try to reply within a reasonable time, even if it’s just a short message saying, “I’ll get back to you later. This shows that I respect the other person’s time and that I’m not just blowing them off.

Something else I do is try to leave explicit messages. Texting doesn’t have tone or body language, so it’s easy for someone to misunderstand what you’re saying. Sometimes, a simple message can come off as rude or harsh without meaning to. I use nice words, and if I'm kidding around, I put a smiley or some sort of indication so the person knows I'm just playing. For instance, when I'm making fun of a friend, "You're so slow! 😏instead of just “You’re always late. That little emoji makes a big difference.

Source

What I can't stand is when people use texting as a way to avoid actually talking to you. I mean, if it's something really serious, such as an argument or something personal, I feel that it is not right to discuss it only through texts. I’ve had friends who would rather text than have a face-to-face conversation about issues, and it always made me feel like they were hiding behind their phone. When it comes to things like this I would much rather just call and talk or even better meet in person because then at least I know that I am getting the real deal and not some sort of warped version that is open to misinterpretation.

And another thing, I hate when people send me really long paragraphs and don’t even give me time to respond. It feels overwhelming to get five or six texts in a row before I even have the chance to reply to the first one. When I text, I try to keep the conversation flowing naturally, like I would if we were talking in person. I only send one message and wait for a response before sending another. This way, it feels more like a real conversation rather than a lecture.

These are guidelines that allow me to have better relationships with people on the internet, as well as in person. I mean when I take the time to send a text message people like that and it makes our conversation a lot better. It’s important to me that people feel respected and understood when they’re talking to me, whether it’s through texting or face-to-face.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments