The Art Of Outgrowing Inferiority Complex

From time immemorial, inferiority complex has always been a burning issue, especially as it relates to children and little adults. Statistics shows that about 25% of people would have experienced a form of this complex one way or the other.

A simple definition says it is a feeling of being inadequate. When we think and go ahead to believe that we are a lot less than how or what we should be. Inferiority complex has hindered so many from getting to their full potential.

loser

So many factors combine to making a lot of people feel inferior. Some includes, insecurity. When we feel we don't meet up to the standard of others. When we have a low opinion about ourselves. And so many others.

Another definition of this complex tells us that it is a state of the mind. To a large extent it is a function of our mindset and how our mind visualise things. One thing is, no matter the prevailing circumstance, not everyone will exhibit it.

Like I said earlier, though many adults suffer from inferiority complex, it mostly affect children, as their mind is easily impressionable. Many have managed to come out of it as they grow older.

source

I had my own share of this experience as a child, though more as a result of bullying. It is one incident that has refused to go away from my mind.

I was in primary 4 and in a public school. I was the youngest and smallest in my class at that time. Most of the pupils were quite big, some older than me with upto 5 years.

There was this particular girl that was almost 3 times my size in the same class. For reasons I couldn't explain this girl hated me so much. She always had opportunities to bully me to no end. Everyday during break I was always at her mercy and she never showed me any. She would drag me out of the class, beat me, collect any money with me.

I saw hell

This continued everyday. I couldn't tell anyone. I felt helpless and cried everyday as I could not defend myself. This made me dread going to school and withdrawn from other children. I saw myself as being weak and inadequate. Even after help came, I still had this complex till I left primary school.

I got my mojo back in secondary school. As things would turn out, my parents became more involved in my school activities and started instilling in me things that did wonders to my mindset. They instilled in me the idea that I can be the best I want to be if I want it badly enough. At that age I got to realise that people that have what I desire don't have more heads than me.

To further help me, dad registered me in a Taekwondo class. I grew in ranks in martial arts and that helped me have a larger than life confidence that I can tackle anything. Suffice to say, after that primary school phase, I have never felt inferior to no one no matter how low I might be. As a result I have vowed non of my child will grow without learning a form of martial arts. This will help a great deal in molding their confidence.

Another thing, one salient fact I have learnt about life is that, no matter our achievements and level, there will always be people better than us. We don't need to put ourselves into unnecessary pressure feeling a certain way . All we need to do is to work harder so we can level up.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center