Town - A Peaceful Ecotone [EN/PT]

JKB | Hello


Town - A Peaceful Ecotone

Urban is where the person meets modernity, and rural is where the person meets culture and nature. Both are distinct in their character, environment, and atmosphere; what shapes them is the distinct character of the people living in both places. My personal preference goes with the town area, and I have my reasons for them as well.

Urban feels noise

It could be because I spent a good part of my life living in urban cities. Skyscrapers, constant honking, and overcrowded streets aren't things that excite me anymore. Though there are good striking features for which I love urban cities.

  • Architecture - This is the best part for me, as I am an observer and vivid buildings and architectural art do increase my interest in living around them. And if you go across the breadth and length of a city, you will notice subtle transitions in architectural themes.
  • Cuisines - I live near the center of my country and can go for various cuisines that both the ends of my country have to offer. Living in a diverse nation has its perks and for foodies - it is a paradise. I enjoy southern dishes in the day and my dinner is generally filled with northern varieties.
  • Festivities - Although festivals do feel like an activity as life in the city is monotonous, the liveliness that they bring to the city is truly eye-catching. Holi, Diwali, Eid, Christmas, I feel like I am a global citizen as I get to be a part of all of them directly and indirectly.
  • Extra Activities - Both the city and village have their own set of fun activities and that is what also keeps one interested in swinging between city and village occasionally. In the city - movies, dine-out, trekking, nightlife, and beaches are my go-to activities. And the best part is that in the city people live in a tight radius so meeting a friend doesn't take that much time.

Rural is peaceful

The ambiance, the closeness with nature, animals, atmosphere, and weather make it a completely distinct and soothing place. It's a place where I go when I want to spend time with myself, like a "me" time. Also, I do not have to carry out daily work and the chaos of city life with me as I visit my village when I am on vacation.

  • Nature - In my recent travel blog, I visited my native place - a town in the northern plains. The weather though feels static but the moment it takes a sudden change, it feels beautiful, amazing. Here are some pictures from the last visit.

  • Fresh looks - In a city, I am aware of what are the things that are going to be there in the environment. E.g., when you see a tractor in cities. And when you shift to the countryside you get to see a lot of moments which leave you amazed. Here is what I am talking about -

  • Can see beyond horizons - No not the literal meaning of seeing across horizons but seeing as far as your vision goes. You get to feel how big this world is, how stretched it is across the ends, how spacious it feels. I and hardly able to enjoy sky visuals in the city but in the village the sky feels like a roof on your head. The world feels endless.

So what is my pick?

Town - the transitional band between urban and rural. The good thing about a town area is that you get the basic facilities of both sides plus both the zones are reachable as well. You live in a low-pollution zone, you get facilities like hotels and shops that remain open till late hours and it is not overcrowded too. I visited a few towns and felt that ambiance of spaciousness with the subtle presence of other activities. It's neither boring nor chaotic.


Portugueses [Brazilian]


O urbano é onde a pessoa encontra a modernidade, e o rural é onde a pessoa encontra a cultura e a natureza. Ambos são distintos em seu caráter, ambiente e atmosfera; o que os molda é o caráter distinto das pessoas que vivem em ambos os lugares. Minha preferência pessoal vai para a área urbana, e também tenho meus motivos para isso.

A sensação urbana é de barulho

Pode ser porque passei boa parte de minha vida vivendo em cidades urbanas. Arranha-céus, buzinas constantes e ruas superlotadas não são mais coisas que me entusiasmam. No entanto, há boas características marcantes pelas quais eu adoro cidades urbanas.

  • Arquitetura - Essa é a melhor parte para mim, pois sou um observador e os prédios vívidos e a arte arquitetônica aumentam meu interesse em viver ao redor deles. E se você percorrer toda a extensão de uma cidade, perceberá transições sutis nos temas arquitetônicos.
  • Culinária - Moro perto do centro do meu país e posso experimentar várias culinárias que ambos os extremos do meu país têm a oferecer. Viver em uma nação diversificada tem suas vantagens e, para os amantes da culinária, é um paraíso. Eu gosto de pratos do sul durante o dia e meu jantar geralmente é repleto de variedades do norte.
  • Festividades - Embora os festivais pareçam uma atividade, já que a vida na cidade é monótona, a animação que eles trazem para a cidade é realmente atraente. Holi, Diwali, Eid, Natal, sinto que sou um cidadão global, pois posso participar de todos eles direta e indiretamente.
  • Atividades extras - Tanto a cidade quanto o vilarejo têm seu próprio conjunto de atividades divertidas, e é isso que também mantém o interesse em alternar entre a cidade e o vilarejo ocasionalmente. Na cidade, cinema, jantar fora, caminhadas, vida noturna e praias são minhas atividades preferidas. E a melhor parte é que, na cidade, as pessoas vivem em um raio apertado, portanto, encontrar um amigo não leva muito tempo.

O meio rural é tranquilo

O ambiente, a proximidade com a natureza, os animais, a atmosfera e o clima fazem desse um lugar completamente distinto e relaxante. É um lugar para onde vou quando quero passar um tempo comigo mesmo, como um tempo “para mim”. Além disso, não preciso levar comigo o trabalho diário e o caos da vida na cidade, pois visito minha aldeia quando estou de férias.

  • Natureza - Em meu recente blog de viagens, visitei meu lugar de origem, uma cidade nas planícies do norte. O clima parece estático, mas, no momento em que muda repentinamente, fica lindo, incrível. Aqui estão algumas fotos de minha última visita.

  • Olhares frescos - Em uma cidade, estou ciente de quais são as coisas que estarão presentes no ambiente. Por exemplo, quando você vê um trator nas cidades. Mas quando você vai para o campo, vê muitos momentos que o deixam maravilhado. Aqui está o que estou falando -

  • Pode ver além dos horizontes - Não, não no sentido literal de ver além dos horizontes, mas ver até onde sua visão alcança. Você sente como este mundo é grande, como ele se estende pelas extremidades e como parece espaçoso. Dificilmente consigo apreciar o visual do céu na cidade, mas na aldeia o céu parece um teto sobre sua cabeça. O mundo parece infinito.

Então, qual é a minha escolha?

Cidade - a faixa de transição entre o urbano e o rural. O lado bom de uma área urbana é que você tem as instalações básicas de ambos os lados, além de ambas as zonas serem acessíveis. Você vive em uma zona de baixa poluição, tem instalações como hotéis e lojas que ficam abertas até tarde e também não é superlotada. Visitei algumas cidades e senti esse ambiente de espaço com a presença sutil de outras atividades. Não é chato nem caótico.

Thank you


Banner Image made using Canva and Freepik
All the images and videos belong to me
Portuguese Translation made possible via Deepl.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center