GAME ADDICTION: IT'S ALL ON CONTEXT

video.webp
Source

Games are generally the varieties of things we play for the fun and the feelings attached to them. Stretching it down a bit, games when taken above the fun level can be a source of livelihood for some people, that is, as a career or job.

Growing up, video games existing were not as rampant as it is now and only a few people had them personally. So, there were centers or shops that provided access to it, well, at affordable rates and this was where most got to play the games. Nowadays, video games are now at our beck and call on our smartphones which have almost turned into full-fledged gaming machines as we have it.

Addiction, in itself, has always been seen as an omen. Such that even if the word is used positively, the subconscious mind first read the meaning of the “addiction” there. But let's see if all addictions are evil...

For me, I am not really any kind of game freak. It was and is still not my fault. Then, when I was younger I do see how my parents scolded my brothers who would have gone to play video games with their little pocket money and were so into it that at times they would skip lunch, especially during holidays. So, I guess this was what was interpreted by me as “playing the video games” was a very bad thing. And being the last born then, I always wanted to please my parents so I graciously steered clear of any video games or even watching soccer matches at viewing centers.

But lowkey anytime, I see people who have become a pro or even an amateur at one game or the other, I really envy them because I love these games but I couldn't play them! Well, at some points, I tried my hands on the pads or joysticks but it always ends woefully.

In this age and time where virtually everything we do is getting the suffix “TO-EARN” (-2E), the world of video games is not an exception. At least, we have seen some here on Hive – Splinterlands, Psyberx, etc. We also have some companies who are into it already For example, Gamr.Africa preaches play to earn where people come from different walks of (the gaming) life to show forth and apply their skills to get rewarded with their currency - Gamr!

And you know we humans have a stereotypical view of anything that has money involved in it. Quite alright, some kids while growing up have been addicted to playing video games and may have been scolded like my brothers. But nowadays, these skills when sharpened well enough to be engaged in fruitful gamings will end up you being reimbursed. I, like many other people, would not think the addiction is a bad one. In fact, I will praise more addictions like that!😎

In another view, in my society, we have seen how some kids would soil their uniforms, clothes, etc. playing football after school almost every week. Some kids will definitely feel the brunt of the rod but we have seen a lot of top footballers starting from the same point and see where they are and their achievements.

But if a game addict is not getting any rewards and it is so obvious to other people, I am sure such a person will have been rebuked multiple times or even forced to rehab 🤣. So, once money is involved, that is, you – as an addict- are earning from it, no one would see it as a bad thing anymore. It all depends on the context.


This is my entry for the Hive Learners week 16 edition 3 which you can check out here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center