Travel Experience

“Travel more, explore the world, go on great adventures because you only live once.”
This was said to me by my sister when I was younger and I was coming of age and she felt the need to give me the ultimate advice of enjoying my youth to the fullest by traveling and touring and exploring to the best of my ability.

It was an advice that I welcomed but it wasn't one that I was actually keen on putting into practice because despite her good intentions and the thrill of traveling to different places, I realized in time that I didn't have that adventurous spirit in me.

I do like to travel but it's something that is at the bottom of my list and not at the top as I am not usually keen on moving from place to place with speed. I enjoy taking things at my own pace and traveling swiftly would disrupt my pace which is why I chose to take her advice in a way that'd best suit me.


TRAVEL BLOGGING:



I have traveled to a few states in my country, something I am very happy about too. I would focus on the time I traveled to AWKA, ANAMBRA STATE for the first time and my experience during the journey.

Days before my journey, I had already gotten my things ready so that I wouldn't leave anything behind. I knew that I was going to travel by road and the journey would have to begin very early in the morning so I made the decision to get the bus ticket for the journey the day before. It is advisable to always book a seat before the day of the journey to ensure that you travel with the first bus in order to arrive at the destination on time.



The day of the journey arrived and it was like any other day, just that I had to wake up extra earlier than usual. I got to the bus park on time and waited for our luggage to be loaded on the bus. My mother and sister were with me at the park, though I was the only one traveling.

Soon, it was time to begin the journey so I bade my mother and sister goodbye before getting on the bus and in no time the journey began in earnest.
It is calculated to be a journey of eight hours, give or take, if the bus driver limits the number of stops to just two times maximum or three, depending on how much fuel he consumes.

It is a long journey but time passes by quickly as the bus speeds down the highway.

On the road, speeding towards our destination, I got to see a lot of things as we sped on. There'd be acres and acres of farmland and different types of plantations on those farmlands and I always wonder if those plantations are owned by individuals or by the government.

I also got to see mud houses with thatched roofs standing proudly by the highway and I couldn't help but wonder just how comfortable the owner of that house would be every night knowing that he or she lives near a highway.

The thought gave me chills..

Hours into the journey, the driver made his first stop at a popular bus stop for those traveling long distances in Ore. There's a restaurant with free toilet services for people traveling to ease themselves and for those who want to buy cooked food. Outside the restaurant were different tables for different traders who sold different items ranging from fruits to barbecue and lots of other items. Though at really exorbitant prices.

I don't like to eat during a long journey to prevent my stomach from acting funny, so I stuck to dry snacks like chips and water to hold me till I get to my destination.

The rest of the journey went by in a blur as all I could see for miles was dry land lying fallow, the wide blue sky and the very long road ahead of us.

Soon, we arrived at our destination, the bus park in AWKA, ANAMBRA STATE and at that point, I really couldn't wait to get to my final destination.


MY EXPERIENCE SO FAR:


My experience in the state has been quite different from my experience back at home in Lagos State. Awka, being the state capital, lacks the hustle and bustle of which Lagos State has in abundance. Due to the lesser population, there's actually large spaces in between buildings and the roads are wider too and traffic is not a really common experience there.

The highways are built differently and the traffic wardens over there wear a different colored uniform. On the bridges, you will find different artistic drawings portraying the Igbo culture and the tradition of the state.

The state's slogan is:

”The Light Of The Nation"

Which can be seen almost everywhere as some sort of reminder to its citizens to let their light shine bright.

I have been exploring to the best of my ability and whenever I feel like it as the state has places of interest like the Niger River, the popular Main Onitsha market which has been called the biggest market in Africa, beautiful restaurants and parks, museums and art galleries which makes exploring the state more fun.



My experience so far has been great, really.



(All images are mine)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center