ADULT LIFE

pexels-cottonbro-4503745.jpg
Image Source

And I asked myself "Am I an adult yet?". Well yh, I am a young adult.

Hi, and welcome to my post today. A few decades ago I was born into a lovely family, at that time we were just 6, and I was the last born (I guess I was the only last born who wasn't stubborn) until my kid brother came and dethroned me, we then became a complete number '7'.

I was and still am very brilliant. During my primary education, I went to good standard schools, where we were taught how to speak queens English. I was fast in modeling that, I remember my mum intentionally asking me questions so I would speak the " Queens English" but now the accent has gone into hiding... (Life)

There is this question that every kid must have been asked and sometimes the answers they give never actualize or at least not fully. This question is a question I was asked too on several occasions.

Here is one of the conversations.

"What would you like to be when you grow up?".

I answered

I would love to be a Medical Doctor

I was asked

Why?

My answer

Because I love to help people, I hate to see people suffer.

Those words came out so easily but from a sincere heart. I really hated and still hate seeing people suffer.

Immediately, my parents took it up and kept on encouraging and pushing me to that dream. As I grew older the dream and passion became stronger but this time with more details, it became "A Surgeon" not just a doctor.


Fast forward to recent times

I graduated from Secondary School quite early but sadly couldn't secure admission. During the 4-5 years I was at home I took up jobs.

I fell in love with computers and tech along the line, worked in small tech firms. Gradually my passion for Medicine began to die but I am still aiming at medicine, after all, it was my first love.

I haven't gotten what I wished for in Adult life but come on I am still young and certain that I would attain those heights sooner or later.

ONE THING I LOVE ABOUT ADULT LIFE

pexels-photo-939700.jpeg
Image Source

One thing I do love about being an adult is Independency.

There are still many adults that are very much dependent on people in different ways but I am not.

You know, as an introvert I got to realize that I hate to always be in the face of people. I just want to be by myself, in my space you know. Do things myself.

This has made me extremely independent, not just financially but in other aspects of my life.

I have 3 elder siblings that I can ask stuff from, I have my both parents, I have uncles and aunts but I choose to do my things myself. Make and spend my own money, sometimes it gets tiring but it has really helped me in many ways. So yh, that is one thing I love about this Adult life.

ONE THING I WISH TO CHANGE

MINDSET I would love to change the mindset of young people. I am not against education at all but we need to see that there are more means to getting money (since that is mostly the reason for schooling) than spending years in the 4 walls of a university. There are numerous skills and knowledge out there waiting to be grabbed. Especially in this digital age, there are digital skills to learn with which you can earn. Get equipped with skills

It is no longer about your "certificate" it is now about your "sabificate", this simply means companies no longer look at your certificate but also how equipped and experienced you are.

That would be all for today.

Thank you for reading.

PB8ro82ZpZP35bVGjGoE93K3E4U5KX8KtMBJ2rgQYt9aqnZLmbZCDfqGmgpExsLuwBFpWdzXVhaaVESZF6R83UfSUHZdUcfKwpFCnZyNgKH2BnsY.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now