Me and the Celebrity Obsession

Source : Link Photo by Pixabay

A few days ago, I found myself lounging on the sofa, scrolling through my phone and stumbled upon news about a celebrity embroiled in a major scandal. A thought crossed my mind: "Why am I worrying about celebrities who don't even know I exist?" I paused for a moment, and that thought seemed to linger in my mind.

It took me back to my teenage years. Back then, I was obsessed with celebrity lives. Whenever there was breaking news, I absorbed it like a sponge. My mind was filled with gossip about who was dating whom, who wore what at the red carpet, and the latest drama. I would often argue with my friends about these issues as if they were of utmost importance.

As I grew older, my perspective began to shift. I started realizing that, despite the glamorous and colorful lives of celebrities, they were still just people. They have their own problems, worries, and mistakes. More importantly, they have no idea who I am. And it started to feel odd to expend so much emotional energy worrying about their lives.

One moment of clarity came when I watched a celebrity interview about how they handle the pressures of public scrutiny. I felt sympathy for them and even worried if they could cope with the pressure. But then I thought, "Why am I worrying about them? There are so many things in my own life that need attention."

I'm not saying that following celebrity news is entirely bad. Sometimes, their stories can be entertaining or even provide valuable life lessons. However, when we become too involved and let their lives affect our emotions, that's where the problem lies.

Over time, I began focusing more on my own life. I tried to pay more attention to the people around me who actually care about me. Ironically, when I stopped caring so much about celebrities, I found myself feeling more peaceful and happy.

There's a certain freedom that comes when we let go of things that truly don’t matter. Worrying about someone we've never met, who will never know we exist, turns out to be one of the most unproductive things we can do.

So, if you ever find yourself trapped in the cycle of worrying about celebrity drama, try stepping back. Look around you and think about the people and things that truly matter in your life. You might be surprised at how much time and energy you can save for what really counts.

In the end, it might just be the wisest decision we can make in this busy and distraction-filled life.

One up Chaos.png

Thank you for reading this far into my article. Hopefully, there is something you can get from what I have shared.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center