My nonserious attitude towards Time

Everyone in this world knows the importance of time however, there are people like me who after knowing all the importance, still take it for granted and have lack of seriousness towards it. In fact, this has become the worst habitual problem for me. We all have heard about “time is money” and that is so true, people like me always lose a lot when they not manage time properly, and later there is no point of crying over spilt milk. This lame attitude towards time always makes you stuck in problems and it does have some serious outcomes which comes sometimes unexpectedly.

Image by Jan Vašek from Pixabay

Since childhood, I have been trying to win over this battle of time management. This is my biggest weakness. At times of exams, I always postpone preparing and reviewing chapters. Months turns into days and then hours and then time comes when I was busy in calculating minutes to complete those reviewing of chapters. Last minute preparations are always risky. This is the best example of poor time management. It directly effects on my marks. Somehow, I managed to pass but if I would have studied more closely and with time management, I could have taken more marks in those subjects. This didn’t stopped there, next year I repeated the same thing which means I didn’t learnt anything from my last mistake. I was really disappointed with myself. It’s my laziness and I am not getting out of it which is more serious problem.

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Doing things at last moments is always risky. I always tried to improve myself in this area but till now, no success but yes I can say a bit of improvement and I see a little bit of hope in getting more serious about time management. Maybe this is all because I am married and have a bit of responsibilities which definitely change minds and thinking. But still if you ask my Mother about it, she would say I don’t have any sense in time management because I usually on daily basis, listening and getting scolding from her on not doing many things on time.

Image by Mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

The time when it hits on my personality and my image, this is the time when I realize i need to focus on it and no more delaying. Last year, I got some projects of translation and they are time sensitive because company has to present those to their clients timely in order to maintain good business relationship. I was new in these things and was not expert in calculating time after seeing the excel file of translation. I gave a tentative time of a week and thought would easily complete it in a day or so. Time passed by, and there is one day left for me to complete that file. I opened it on last day and started doing work on it. It was not that easy as I expected. I took help of my brother to complete it but still unable to meet the timeline. Next day, she was very upset with my nonserious attitude and was shouting on call that what she is going to do. It was a total mess. Somehow, I asked her to give me two more days to complete it and she agreed but asked to share important columns on urgent basis.
My bro was not at all happy with my time management, he said if you would have given only half an hour per day then you could have completed it one day earlier. It’s all about calculating and scheduling correct time for the provided task. In second task, I once again took it for granted and thought of starting working on it three days before timeline. Spent three days in doing nothing. I did some time management work for this task but again failed. I got busy in some emergency situation and didn’t get time to work on that task for two more days. Once again, I was in the same situation as the last time. One day to complete the task. I honestly shared everything with the company and asked for one more day, I think it wasn’t that urgent so she agreed.

Image by Rocco Stoppoloni from Pixabay

I really got improved in the third task. Completed the task within given timeline just using some basic time management skills. Making things easier for myself, getting things done within timelines. Scheduling and rescheduling is very important aspect in time management. Defining things with high and low priority in order to complete daily tasks sequence wise. I am not perfect though but still learning these essential aspects of time management.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center