Choosing Challenges Over Benefits

I have worked in different companies and availed numerous employee benefits, and yes, it really feels great to have those benefits in your workplace. I am well aware of the different kinds of employee benefits, but at my current job, I don’t see many of them. This was clearly communicated at the time of joining and in the appointment letter, so I acknowledged and agreed to those terms and conditions.

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-22 at 10.02.20 (1).jpeg

In Pakistan, common employee benefits include medical and health insurance, EOBI (Employees' Old-age Benefits Institution), provident fund or gratuity, and an annual bonus. Depending on the goodwill of the company, there can be more. In one of my past companies, I used to get overtime pay and a performance reward, which was a handsome amount. Incentive policies are well-placed and organized in different companies, providing ways for employees to earn more beyond their basic salary and utilities. Sales personnel often receive different car/bike plans and fuel allowances, which I consider as employee benefits because they are not part of the salary but vary based on designation and usage.

Despite knowing all this, I am currently working at a company that does not provide many of these benefits. Why? Let me explain. This might seem like a wrong decision, but it is what makes me satisfied. In my current position, I am provided with EOBI and medical insurance for my immediate family members. When I joined this company two years ago, I was informed that they were working on adding more employee benefits and would soon share their progress. However, they made no commitments or promises, keeping things transparent.

IMG_20220829_150904085.jpg

The company was growing and needed the expertise of new employees from various fields and departments to work towards its betterment and streamline processes. It was clear that the employees’ efforts would directly influence the opening of more employee benefits without placing a heavy burden solely on the company.

The free hand and authority provided in my company, along with the most friendly and open-door policy environment, are aspects I count as employee benefits. These elements give us the space to grow individually and create a workplace where we can freely work and establish SOPs to streamline processes. Not having strict compliance over timings, as long as the work is done on time, is incredibly beneficial for an employee today. The only thing that would force me to resign is the loss of my salary.

I remain positive that things will change in the near future as we progress and make some difficult decisions regarding KPIs to identify those who are not contributing effectively. I don’t have much to lose beyond my salary, and I am not planning to leave just for more employee benefits. I took this challenge two years ago, and I am committed to fulfilling my goal, which is directly linked to the company’s growth.

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-22 at 10.02.22 (1).jpeg

In short, while there are no substantial monetary employee benefits in my current workplace, I chose this path. As long as the company environment remains conducive to working freely and meeting the challenge I set for myself, I will not quit.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now