Let’s Be A Part Of This Mandatory Service.

Mandatory service for adults here in Nigeria is something common that almost every adult do especially when they graduate from the university and trying to move into their next phase of life. I have done my part of this mandatory service as well and almost every Nigerian parent wants their child to do this too because it is a thing of joy.
If you ask some people about these scheme, they will tell you that it’s a very good one and a lot of proof can benefit from it and at the same time, some people will tell you that it is trash and they will never be a part of it.

What’s the mandatory service like in Nigeria?

About the mandatory service, you are expected to serve your country for the whole of a year but within that period, you’re expected to be camped for three weeks so you could have some military training. It’s always a tough one at the start but people blend as time goes on. After then, you’d be posted to different workplace where you can work so you will have more experience about the job which pertains to the course you went for in the university.


Source

In this process, the government will pay you some amount of money every month and if you are lucky, the workplace where you are being posted to will also pay you some money. I was also paid during my time but it was stipends and I could manage it.

Do I feel this scheme is necessary?

To be very honest, this scheme is necessary. The only disadvantage is that it is stressful for people who can’t cope with stress no matter how little it may be. Registration and all can be very stressful so you have to be ready for the physical, emotional and financial stress.

It is necessary because it provides a better future for youths. In the camp, there is something called the SAED program in which you will be able to learn some handwork for that three weeks and if you wish to further more, y oh will continue to take the class outside the camp. It is usually free insure the camp and when you want to further, you will be asked to pay a little amount of money. With that, you may start up something on the long run as long as you have learned and you’re good at what you do.

Secondly, it provides more job opportunities. If you’re able to give in your best in the workplace you were posted to, they may retain you and you will begin to earn a reasonable amount of money. The place where I worked wanted to retain me because I was upright but I didn’t want it and I took opportunity of the third opportunity which I will share with you.


Source

Last and the third, you can save up the money the governor pays you to start up something after the service.
For example, I didn’t spend a dime from what the government paid me when I was serving my country and I also saved the money the school paid me. I was able to save over half a million Naira and my dad added close to two million Naira to the money which made me a business owner today and also combined with my sister’s. Heaven help those who help themselves which means that I had a little about of money and that’s why my dad was willing to help with more.

Have you seen how you can benefit from this service and you can just try one of these opportunities. Also, it is not a compulsory scheme so it is not a must to do it but for those who have no connection or no way of getting a job in the future, please be a part of this mandatory service.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center