MY FIRST JOB AFTER SECONDARY SCHOOL; MY EXPERIENCES.

The Power of (3).png

While I was still very young, I never thought about getting or having a job, I was just enjoying whatsoever I was doing back then. I began to see life differently after secondary school as I have nothing to do with school at that time. A year before leaving secondary school, I was learning artworks which include almost all forms of artistic works like sculpture, painting, sketching, etc. I became better gradually and was already spending two years learning artwork; not quite long something came up so I had to put artwork on hold.

HOW I GOT MY FIRST JOB

I had a friend that I've known since primary school, we became friends because he had a dog back then and our friendship remained till after secondary school. My friend David, already started teaching in a small primary school in the next community and I can say he was good at it because he was very brilliant throughout his secondary school. He told me they needed a secondary school graduate to teach in the school where he is working, I laughed because I've never thought of myself teaching.

A week later, he said I don't need any experience because I would be trained while working. That sounded like something that could work for me, so I agreed. I got a call from my friend the next day around 2pm to come and submit my letter of application, which I did.

Getting there, I was interviewed by the owner of the school, a woman. Omg!!, this woman is so good with words, posture and holding conversations. Within few minutes, I had said a lot and then I felt like a fool because she got me to show who I really was then with just the few questions she asked me (she's good at human psychology). About 30mins later, she said to me "I can perceive that you love kids" and was asked if I could start immediately, I said yes.

I was asked to teach the kids for few minutes with the textbook and a whiteboard maker that I was given. I did very well and the kids even clapped for me😂.

Lessons I Learnt While On The Job

My first lesson was funny; I never knew kids aren't easy beings, I couldn't teach them without opening all of my teeth and smiling (even when I'm not happy). I sometimes have to do extra demonstrations to grab their attention and make them understand whatever I was teaching tjemthem. This taught me patience, real one.

untitled.gif

My second lesson was more of exposure. I am still grateful I took that job back then, it made me realise how much one can achieve through teamwork. There were days where I had to team up with one or two teachers to get the kids to carry out their duties inside the school. I remembered preparations for graduation party, teachers would team up to teach the kids choreography, recitation,etc.

My third lesson was learning how to interact and work with people with different background,belief, way of life, especially age. My friend and I were the youngest teacher in the school then and we had to learn how to be co-workers with older ladies and married women. We were able to relate,play and have fun together without disrespecting each other.

Other lessons I learnt; saving part of whatever I earn, I didn't have any saving plan at all. I remembered my mom would tell me to keep part of it, but I didn't see any reason why I should keep money when more would come... Lo and behold, I had nothing after working for 8 months+.

I wished I spoke more often, I rarely talk except I really need too. I don't mingle with new people until after a long while, I remembered when one of teachers said "so you can talk" and I only smiled instead of saying yes. I was awarded the most reserved teacher during the last graduation party before I left for University.

This is my response to the #hivelearners contest for this week titled The First Job

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center